Aunt Mary's Eggplant Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2001
This is yummy! I, too, added more bread crumbs and made patties and fried them. Put 'em on onion buns with some cheddar, mayo, dijon, red onion and tomato. Great vegetarian sub for a burger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2002
The proof is in the kids! I made these with spaghetti and use them as the "meat" balls. The kids never even realized they weren't eating the real thing. (my son noticed the skin, but i just told him it was spices1) I might try peeling them first next time to prevent that. I tried one right out of the oven and got the impression they would be great with ranch dressing as an appetizer. I put them in the sauce this time. I'm so glad I decided to try this. I did increas the bread crumbs to 1 cup and I used italian bread crumbs. Excellent! I'll recommend them to everyone who's afraid of eggplant!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2002
Couldnt get this recipe into balls, but baked it as a pie thing. It was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2001
This is a great recipe. I read the other reviews and knew ahead of time to add more bread crumbs. Also, I made fresh bread crumbs from seasoned bread. They taste better than meatballs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2001
This was absolutely delicious! Delicious taste, i could have eaten just them for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2001
This recipe makes for a quick and delicious meal for vegetarians and carnivores alike. I am most impressed and will be making them again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2002
This was a good recipe. It tasted great with spaghetti sauce! I am definitely going to use this recipe in the future. (I added more bread crumbs and more parmesan cheese that detailed. And I fried the "meatballs" until this were golden brown on the outside.) Great recipe- tasty results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2002
very good and easy. everyone liked them. will make the a must for my veggie friends
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2002
The eggplant smells funky when steaming, but after adding the breadcrumbs and baking, it was very good! These were great as leftovers all by themselves too. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2002
I took all the advice and this is what I did. I used 1.3 cups of crushed crackers instead of bread crumbs. I could'nt decide between baking and frying so I did both. I baked at 350 for 15 minutes then I flattened and fried (used just a tad of olive oil, but probably could have done as well without) on each side until golden brown, put them back on the cookie sheet and put a teaspoon of riccotta cheese on each and put back in the oven for about 10 minutes. They were really good. My 5 year old daughter just loved them. The only reason I bought an eggplant is because she liked the way it looked. I have never made an eggplant dish. I guess it must be beginners luck. And one other thing; I used romano cheese instead of parmesan. I think I better get another eggplant. Oh, they could use a little salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Olive Oil Roasted Eggplant with Lemon

See how to make super-simple eggplant roasted with olive oil.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States