Aunt Mary's Eggplant Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2000
This is somewhat similar to a family recipe of mine, very yummy...even my brother who hates eggplants will eat this way!!! Just a suggestion, after baking or frying these add them into a pasta sauce and let them absorb the sauce, it will give them a different flavour!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2000
The finished product is delish, but the recipe needs some adjustment. When I checked on the eggplant after just five minutes of steaming, it was sticking to the pan and about to burn. I'd suggest another way of cooking it - or paying VERY close attention during the steaming process. In addition, I needed MUCH more than 1/2 cup bread crumbs to make the mixture hold together - and even then, the balls were sticky and tended to spread a bit while baking. Maybe 1 cup bread crumbs, and say half an hour in fridge before attempting to roll the mixture into balls - and fry them, don't bake, so you can turn them and help them keep a ball shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2001
This recipe was very tasty. I didn't have enough breadcrumbs as called for in the recipe so I used the eggplant to stuff portabella mushrooms. After a trip to the store the next day I made "hamburger" patties with the leftovers. I found that if you coat the burgers with breadcrumbs they bake better and don't stick to the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2001
This is a great recipe. I read the other reviews and knew ahead of time to add more bread crumbs. Also, I made fresh bread crumbs from seasoned bread. They taste better than meatballs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2001
i recentlu became a vegetarian and was really missing meatballs with my pasta. these have a great flavor. i love to find a recipe i will use all the time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2001
The "meatballs" actually tasted even better the next day. They can even be eaten cold and dipped in a sweet and sour sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2001
Not so great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2001
This is yummy! I, too, added more bread crumbs and made patties and fried them. Put 'em on onion buns with some cheddar, mayo, dijon, red onion and tomato. Great vegetarian sub for a burger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2001
I did not like this recipe. It was too bland and all I could taste was the bread crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2001
This was absolutely delicious! Delicious taste, i could have eaten just them for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Olive Oil Roasted Eggplant with Lemon

See how to make super-simple eggplant roasted with olive oil.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States