Aunt Mary's Eggplant Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
This recipe is like my mother's and it is my favorite way to eat eggplant! I make it into patties and top with warmed goat cheese, marinara and threads of fresh basil. The best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
I am struggling to make it edible. I thought there was way too much parsley and I think its ruining it. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
I loved this recipe! I love eggplant so this was perfect! I put the steamed eggplant in a food processor and pulsed it a bit before adding the bread crumbs and other ingredients. I only used one egg since I did this but added about 2 T of milk. I also added a little bit of basil and crushed red pepper. Thanks to the other reviewer about using an ice cream scoop. Made it so easy! This recipe is going to be made alot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nyack, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
I love these. I like to make them with Baked Ziti they cook nicely together. Same temp and same time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
This is a great recipe! I baked mine as patties and served with mushroom gravy. I will be making this one again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
5 star with some alterations: added onion powder and some basil and paprika. Chopped eggplant very small so it cooked quicker and the balls were more homogeneous. DELICIOUS! Especially with spaghetti sauce. Good texture too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
This was REALLY great! I made it for our vegetarian Christmas dinner and made a few modifications... First, I followed other recommendations and added a bit of balsamic vinegar when frying up the eggplant. I also made a point of mashing the eggplant while frying it (once it was soft enough). I also added about half a cup of shredded carrots and a cup of shredded zucchini and fried it with the eggplant (I ended up putting in more breadcrumbs to balance things out as well). Finally, we made two variations: one with chopped walnuts, and one with finely diced hot red pepper. Both were delicious and I will be making this again !! p.s. It's really great with a mushroom gravy as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
These were wonderful. However I did change a few things to what I had on hand, but the overall idea is great. They are very flexible to personal tastes which them priceless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by evillhog

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fortuna, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
These meatballs are extraordinary! I used 5 garlic cloves, cheese and crumbs called for, black pepper and no eggs or parsley. I had to beat my husband away from them so I can use them for supper! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
I was disappointed in these. They did not taste good and eggplant is one of my favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Olive Oil Roasted Eggplant with Lemon

See how to make super-simple eggplant roasted with olive oil.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States