Aunt Mary's Eggplant Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I took the advice of some of the reviewers and use this recipie to make vegi burgers. They come out amazing. I did add a little to the recipie though. I use about 8 cloves of garlic. I also added about a 1/2 cup of shredded carrot and and one diced small hot pepper. The end result is amazing. It has become a family favorite and a great meat alternative. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
These were great! I did do a few things different (going by the suggestions of previous reviews). I did have to add extra water to steam the eggplant. I also used extra garlic and breadcrumbs, at least twice the amount, added an italian seasoning type mix and pureed everything in the food process. Will definitely use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happycows

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley Springs, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
These just weren't that great for us, they tasted kind of breadcrumby. I liked them okay, but couldn't convince my husband or kids that they were a decent substitute for the real thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
This recipe is like my mother's and it is my favorite way to eat eggplant! I make it into patties and top with warmed goat cheese, marinara and threads of fresh basil. The best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
I am struggling to make it edible. I thought there was way too much parsley and I think its ruining it. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
I loved this recipe! I love eggplant so this was perfect! I put the steamed eggplant in a food processor and pulsed it a bit before adding the bread crumbs and other ingredients. I only used one egg since I did this but added about 2 T of milk. I also added a little bit of basil and crushed red pepper. Thanks to the other reviewer about using an ice cream scoop. Made it so easy! This recipe is going to be made alot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nyack, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
I love these. I like to make them with Baked Ziti they cook nicely together. Same temp and same time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
This is a great recipe! I baked mine as patties and served with mushroom gravy. I will be making this one again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
5 star with some alterations: added onion powder and some basil and paprika. Chopped eggplant very small so it cooked quicker and the balls were more homogeneous. DELICIOUS! Especially with spaghetti sauce. Good texture too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
This was REALLY great! I made it for our vegetarian Christmas dinner and made a few modifications... First, I followed other recommendations and added a bit of balsamic vinegar when frying up the eggplant. I also made a point of mashing the eggplant while frying it (once it was soft enough). I also added about half a cup of shredded carrots and a cup of shredded zucchini and fried it with the eggplant (I ended up putting in more breadcrumbs to balance things out as well). Finally, we made two variations: one with chopped walnuts, and one with finely diced hot red pepper. Both were delicious and I will be making this again !! p.s. It's really great with a mushroom gravy as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Olive Oil Roasted Eggplant with Lemon

See how to make super-simple eggplant roasted with olive oil.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States