Aunt Mary's Eggplant Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
I peeled the eggplant. I also used dried parsley. I then rolled these into tiny balls and baked about 15 minutes. I put them on a pizza for my vegetarian daughter. She loved it. I plan to bake some more for the freezer. That way I can just toss them on the pizza frozen and bake like usual. These come out very much like the vegetarian meat substitutes that are so expensive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
It tasted really good, but my family did not like the eggplant chunks so next time I make it I will shred the eggplant. I shredded the eggplant and it was really great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jenkintown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
This was really good! I had some eggplants and didn't know to use them up, and this recipe was perfect! I followed the recipe and made balls and sauteed them then simmered in a previously made spaghetti sauce. Everyone enjoyed the spaghetti and "meatless" meatballs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BkDuran

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
Didn't need extra breadcrumbs as I only used one egg and they held together fine. Refrigeration before forming balls or patties is an important step and helps them hold together better. A very versatile recipe for adding your preferred spices before cooking and different sauces when serving. Other additions that work are, mashed cooked lentils, diced spinach, well drained extra firm tofu (crumbled), finely chopped pretoasted walnuts. Sprinkled flattened patties with additional seasoned breadcrumbs and drizzled with a little garlic olive oil, for a nice baked crunchines. I got 5 large patties and 10 small balls. Froze the unbaked balls for later to bake with a sauce. Thank you so much for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
I have to honestly say these were fabulous .. My husband loved them I served it with anfel hair pasta with sauce .. Im already making another batch to freeze .So many eggplants came out of my garden and I didnt know what I was going to do with them all ..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Medford, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
Ifollowed this recipe to the letter. Not enough water to steam burnt some of the eggplant. Not able to form into balls, tried frying and baking and both ways ended up with mush which fell apart. Bitter because the most important step was missing which was to salt, plate-press and rinse the acid from the eggplant before cubing. Because I was lazy today and did not feel like making eggplant the way I know how, I ended up unhappy. I'd skip the cubing process, eggwash, breadcrumb and fry your slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
I did peel the eggplant and didn't measure it, just used a whole one. Had to add some extra bread crumbs, and I did use the italian crumbs. I was worried about this recipe, because I'm only partially fond of eggplant, but they turned out so good!!! I'll be making these again and again. Thank you for the recipe!! I did make them with some homemade pasta sauce over noodles. I'm not a cook yet, but was highly impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
I would cut up more eggplant next time and cook it a little longer. Needed to add more breadcrumbs even though I used only one egg. I also added some crushed red pepper when I mixed it all up. I sauteed some sliced red bell peppers with onions and added some tomato & basil spaghetti sauce, then the eggplant balls and served them on hoagie rolls for a veggie Italian sandwich. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
yum, yum, yum! I made this last night and loved it. I didn't have grated parm cheese and I think if I had that it would have been even better. Also didn't have fresh parsley so had to add dried, but even if I had it I don't think I would have added an entire cup. I added a few of my own prefered spices, made into patties and served with sauce on top. I will be making this again and again! Thank you Lynette!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzanne D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwich, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Amstelveen, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
So good! This was the first time I've ever tried eggplant. OMG, the best for a meatball substitute! I made these exactly as directed, then I mixed them in a pot of spicy marinara sauce. I served it over spaghetti with garlic bread and voila! Fabulous, especially the next day :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenWitch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eagle Creek, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Olive Oil Roasted Eggplant with Lemon

See how to make super-simple eggplant roasted with olive oil.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States