Aunt Mary's Eggplant Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
I made these today and I can say they are divine! I shaped them into 9 nice sized "meatballs", baked them and put 1 cup of Prego Heartsmart spaghetti sauce on them with a topping of 2 tablespoons of grated Parmesan cheese. It just blew me away!! Next time I will make them into "burgers". Thank you so much for this wonderful recipe Lynette!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warrenville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
Will make these again! Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori In Ct

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
we don't make balls, we make burgers! excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAUREEN38

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waltham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Excellent! I served them to my family as Swedish Meatballs and everyone loved the taste and texture. I will definitely make this recipe again with pasta and marinara.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
Great Recipe! I made variations though: Roasted the eggplant at 425 for 20 minutes and blended them w/ tbsp of water
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
Well, these are definately not the prettiest things, but, boy, are they good! I used more garlic than called for, just one egg and eyeballed the bread crumbs until I could shape them (also added a little salt and pepper, to taste). My eggplant only needed to steam about 10 minutes or so. I formed them into small logs...they are really good! We make a recipe similar to these, but they are fried, so this was a nice, healthier alternative. I will be using this recipe again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
These are great, excellent veggie main course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
These were definitely different, but I liked them. I don't cook with eggplant often, so it's a bit of a learning experience. They sure weren't pretty, but hubby and I both enjoyed them. I served with "Pesto Pasta" from this site. I will make these again for a nice vegetarian option. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Awesome! I added 8 oz of finely chopped mushrooms & then adjusted the breadcrumbs according. I used a small cookie scoop to make the balls & baked at 375 for a slightly drier meatball. My grandson "hates eggplant & won't eat mushrooms", downed 8 of them. Don't ask don't tell. Thank you sooooooo much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaye

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eastman, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by redteapot
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
I have to say that I was pleasantly surprised at the flavor and texture. As they cooled they were a little firmer and easier to toss in pasta and sauce, gently. I added fresh garlic chives,basil and oregano and also seasoned bread crumbs. This gave them so much flavor and are similar to a Boca Burger Veggie patty. I would suspect these would freeze well but haven't tried it yet. A Keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by redteapot

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Olive Oil Roasted Eggplant with Lemon

See how to make super-simple eggplant roasted with olive oil.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States