Aunt Mary's Eggplant Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
My husband and daughter love eggplant, my son and I not so much. This has been a great option for our family of four. I'm a vegetarian so I've made them into patties, varying the seasoning, and eaten it on nights the family is eating meat. They make great meatball sandwiches and of course spaghetti and meatballs. I make a double batch of this every week while harvesting my eggplant and freeze them. I use Japanese eggplant. If you chop it up in the food processor the final product has the look and consistency of meat. Even my eggplant hating sister will eat patties made this way, with lots of condiments, of course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LAURAMA1230
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
LOVED these! And with the unbelievable amounts of eggplant available these days, I'm going to be freezing a bunch of these. I made them almost the same as the recipe stated (I peeled the eggplant and mashed it) and they were delicious and easy. My 9 year old ate them thinking they were turkey meatballs until I finally told her they were eggplant. She said, "I guess I like eggplant then!" :) Thanks Aunt Mary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Stafford Springs, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
So hopeful this would be good. I love eggplant, but did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
These were very god. I added more garlic to the recipe. I would suggest to double the batch as I only got 15 balls for the original recipe. It is a little time consuming. They turned out really nice looking too. Just like a meatball, only veg. Thanks for sharing, mary
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
I know I have already rated this recipe, but I have to rate it again! I LOVE LOVE LOVE this! I made this recipe last week and I shaped it into pattys. I just took one out, put in the oven for 20 minutes and then put it in a small amount of sauce and let it simmer for about 10 minutes. I put it on whole wheat bread with a slice of American cheese and it was amazing! Next time I will put onions and peppers in the sauce :) Now that I know these freeze well, I will be sure to always have them on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
Pretty tasty, but next time I'll dice the eggplant much smaller to hide it better. I didn't have fresh parsley so I substituted a teaspoon or so of Italian seasoning. Served them with pasta sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
I loved this recipe and my boyfriend also loved it! I made it into patties rather than balls, and do noticed that the thicker patties remained mushy in the inside, while the thinner ones got all yummy and crusty. I didn't have any Parmesan cheese available, but I used a cup of shredded cheese, and it worked wonderfully. It would be important to add a previous step, which is to salt the cubed eggplant and leave it for about an hour and then rinse it. Skipping this step could ruin the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmberRose

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
These were super easy and complimentary to a simple pasta sauce. I LOVE that these are baked instead of fried! I preferred to bake the balls longer and at a higher temperature to get the desired crispiness. I raised to 450 after 15min and baked another 10 minutes. Next time, and there WILL be a "next time", I will make my balls flatter and shaped like patties. This allows for a dish that strongly resembles a VERY EASY eggplant parmesan and cuts out several steps. Served over wheat penne topped with homemade sauce and Parmesan. Great meatless meal and very filling. Thanks for this uncomplicated easy recipe for eggplant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OdaMae

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2012
Bland and unappealing in presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 22, 2012
WOW! Excellent! I have a profound eggplant hater in my DH. My daughter and I just LOVE eggplant. couple of times a year i do the fried eggplant patty as a treat for us (calories! - fried, you know) and then we rather avoid it. This recipe is WONDERFUL - even DH says they're ok. I find it absolutely marvelous that they're steamed and baked - and are as crispy as I like them when they come out of the oven! Flavorfull !- an awesome original idea to create "meat" balls and patties with eggplant. The only thing i do different here are my herbs and spices - I add/change only to my family's taste (I add a bit of grated onion, - bit of italian seasoning - more garlic) Thank you so much for this wonderful recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sheila

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Olive Oil Roasted Eggplant with Lemon

See how to make super-simple eggplant roasted with olive oil.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States