Aunt Mary's Eggplant Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
These were great, although I don't think they can replace balls from chicken, pork, or beef. Kids liked them, too, but they like eggplant already. I have been really cutting down on meat, so these are great. I can't wait to try them on a pita with some Greek yogurt. Thank you, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
This is a lovely recipe! One of the best eggplant balls that I have ever tasted! I had a large eggplant that gave me 8 cups so I decided to try this recipe first as written, and then again with minor modifications. I did find the baked version to be a bit bland but went really well with aioli. The second time around I slightly browned the garlic, which added more of a garlicky taste, and I also added a bit of salt. I fried the balls in a bit of EVOO (about 1/4 inch of oil in frying pan) and it really boosted the flavour. To prevent it from falling apart, cut the eggplant into tiny cubes (1/4-1/2 an inch). This will help hold it's shape when cooked. I was also surprised how well the parsley works well with the eggplant (I would have used basil instead). This is my go-to recipe for eggplant balls. Thank you for sharing this recipe, Lynette Marie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamburg, Hamburg, Germany
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
Delicious! Had a lot of eggplant to use up from the garden and this did the trick. Made mostly as written, added a little extra garlic and threw them into a pot of simmering sauce for a little bit. Super easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
Very good - I think I may have gone a little heavy on the garlic and will use a little less next time. I used 8 cups of eggplant, doubled everything else but only used two eggs. Perfect texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
These lacked flavor but were interesting and have potential. My vegetarian Grandaughter and I made them and we did not hate them but even with marinara sauce to dip them in they need something else. They were easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nonna Hope

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Middleton, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
My husband and daughter love eggplant, my son and I not so much. This has been a great option for our family of four. I'm a vegetarian so I've made them into patties, varying the seasoning, and eaten it on nights the family is eating meat. They make great meatball sandwiches and of course spaghetti and meatballs. I make a double batch of this every week while harvesting my eggplant and freeze them. I use Japanese eggplant. If you chop it up in the food processor the final product has the look and consistency of meat. Even my eggplant hating sister will eat patties made this way, with lots of condiments, of course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LAURAMA1230
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
LOVED these! And with the unbelievable amounts of eggplant available these days, I'm going to be freezing a bunch of these. I made them almost the same as the recipe stated (I peeled the eggplant and mashed it) and they were delicious and easy. My 9 year old ate them thinking they were turkey meatballs until I finally told her they were eggplant. She said, "I guess I like eggplant then!" :) Thanks Aunt Mary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Stafford Springs, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
So hopeful this would be good. I love eggplant, but did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
These were very god. I added more garlic to the recipe. I would suggest to double the batch as I only got 15 balls for the original recipe. It is a little time consuming. They turned out really nice looking too. Just like a meatball, only veg. Thanks for sharing, mary
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
I know I have already rated this recipe, but I have to rate it again! I LOVE LOVE LOVE this! I made this recipe last week and I shaped it into pattys. I just took one out, put in the oven for 20 minutes and then put it in a small amount of sauce and let it simmer for about 10 minutes. I put it on whole wheat bread with a slice of American cheese and it was amazing! Next time I will put onions and peppers in the sauce :) Now that I know these freeze well, I will be sure to always have them on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Olive Oil Roasted Eggplant with Lemon

See how to make super-simple eggplant roasted with olive oil.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States