Aunt Mary's Eggplant Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
it is a staple in our house. We add black pepper and Italian seasoning too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam Thyme

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
I cut the recipe in half and followed the directions exactly except I peeled the eggplant and used seasoned crumbs as others had suggested. I steamed the eggplant cubes for 20 minutes. Not soft. Another 5 minutes, still not soft. So I took the cover off and sautéed the eggplant over medium heat until it softened (more than 35 minutes total cooking time). I then let the eggplant cool. When I mixed the ingredients, I could not get it to hold together so I ended up mashing the eggplant as others had suggested trying to get a better consistency. Continued on with the recipe as stated. I found them dry and overly bready. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
My stepdaughter made this last night, it turned out very well. My husband had a bite or two and said it turned out really well! I'm sure she'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Urbana, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
I made these because my 10 year old is a vegetarian. I had tried these at a restaurant and like them. He loved them! My 15 year old son and I also liked them and I will make them again even though they took a while to make. I used two medium eggplants, added a bit of balsamic vinegar and Worcestershire sauce while cooking, and used a cup of Italian breadcrumbs and Egg Beaters instead of actual eggs. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
Loved this recipe - I added mushrooms and used Cilantro instead of Parsley and added a little bit of Onion Powder. I made paddies instead of meatballs. It was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Stuart, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by msbuff
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
These turned out amazing! I modified the spices in this recipe to suit my own taste. I also used panko bread crumbs instead. They browned real nice in the oven. This was also a nice change up to making eggplant. Can't wait to share this recipe with friends and family. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msbuff

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Sanford, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
My hubby LOVES eggplant and I would turn my nose up to it..didn't like the texture..but eggplant made this way is AWESOME!! I only used 1 beaten egg and seasoned up with 2 teaspoons onion powder and 2 teaspoons of Italian seasoning. I also substituted dried parsley for fresh, using 1/8 cup...These are addicting!! Freeze wonderfully..Now if I am hungry I pop a few in the microwave for a minute, top with sauce and eat on a bun!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Yoxall Donhauser

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
I made these today just as the recipe says and they are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Derr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Followed directions to a tee. Tasted bland. Fell apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Colts Neck, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Seminole, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
Wow.Who knew! Vegetarian dish can be tasty! Most wonderful as balls or stuffing for mini peppers. Mom in law, even asked for the recipe! I'm experimenting on a vegan version of if... Watch for Vegan Eggplant Ball.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leannán

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Deux-Montagnes, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Innisfil, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Olive Oil Roasted Eggplant with Lemon

See how to make super-simple eggplant roasted with olive oil.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States