Aunt Mary's Eggplant Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2002
Very good, but here's what I did differently the second time I made this dish. I skinned the Eggplant, cubed it, and marinated it in Soy Sauce for 20 minutes. I used more than 8 cloves of Garlic ( 12 ). I used a store bought variety of seasoned Bread Crumbs ( Italian ) and found that mashing the cooked Eggplant aided in the mixing of the ingredients. Excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
232 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2002
Very tasty and wonderful texture. I am not always a big eggplant fan but I couldn't get enough of these. We served them with spaghetti. I prepared the mixture and then froze them in balls before baking. I took them out when I needed them, baked them and they were very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2002
Words can not explain this creation. My favorite veggie is eggplant - these absolutely deserve 5 stars. I test froze one cooked patty - still excellent. Next time I will cut the eggplant a tad bigger - maybe a little bigger then the size of dice - I also added chopped banana pepper & jalopeno to the rest of the batch (I made double right off the bat). I made patties and fried them in a LITTLE olive oil in a skillet on the stove. This is a great base to make your own veggie burgers - I will be adding waterchestnuts, chopped onion, shredded carrots. Can't wait until I make meatballs. This recipe is going to be a big hit at family gatherings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2004
If you like lots of flavor and spice - consider my variation on this theme: I jazzed up this dish by adding 2 extra cloves of garlic, 1 tsp of crushed red pepper flakes, 2 tbsp of balsamic vinegar and 4 tbsp white wine while steaming the eggplant. I left out the egg. I formed the mashed eggplant into 1/4" patties and baked on a lightly greased cookie sheet per the original instructions. They are incredible! Far more than I hoped for and we'll be making this dish often. Served with a side of pasta and marinara sauce. Leftovers, if there are any, would be great cold in a pita sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2003
Thank you, Aunt Mary! These were ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC! i didn't even have the time to refrigerate them at all, but agree that it would only make for an improvement if i had. i peeled the skin off, because of preference, and mashed them after steaming (you need to stir them every few minutes) and only baked them for twenty minutes because i finshed cooking them in my pot of sauce. My husband and his male friends (sorry to be stereotypical) preferred them to my meatballs! I can't wait to make them into a veggie burger, too!! This recipe will live on in my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carmela McCleary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2000
This is somewhat similar to a family recipe of mine, very yummy...even my brother who hates eggplants will eat this way!!! Just a suggestion, after baking or frying these add them into a pasta sauce and let them absorb the sauce, it will give them a different flavour!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2002
A little messy to make into balls at first, but with my trusty ice cream scooper it got a whole lot easier! This is a great substitute for meat balls. Very hearty and filling, not to mentiond delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2003
Being an eggplant lover, I find this recipe just wonderful. My wife, however, detests eggplants, but was successfully fooled when I made her these. She loved them too! These also work well as an alternative falafel. Lastly, I agree with other reviews concerning adding seasonings and mashing as you saute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2002
i changed the recipe - to have 3 cups of eggplant (peeled) and 1 cup fresh mushrooms -- it was yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2005
My boyfriend and the women in my bookclub all loved this recipe. If you like eggplant, go ahead and include total of 6-7 cups of eggplant to the recipe (rather than 4C),and add one eggwhite. Using Italian breadcrumbs adds some nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Olive Oil Roasted Eggplant with Lemon

See how to make super-simple eggplant roasted with olive oil.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States