Aunt Mary's Eggplant Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2002
Very good, but here's what I did differently the second time I made this dish. I skinned the Eggplant, cubed it, and marinated it in Soy Sauce for 20 minutes. I used more than 8 cloves of Garlic ( 12 ). I used a store bought variety of seasoned Bread Crumbs ( Italian ) and found that mashing the cooked Eggplant aided in the mixing of the ingredients. Excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
238 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2002
Very tasty and wonderful texture. I am not always a big eggplant fan but I couldn't get enough of these. We served them with spaghetti. I prepared the mixture and then froze them in balls before baking. I took them out when I needed them, baked them and they were very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2002
Words can not explain this creation. My favorite veggie is eggplant - these absolutely deserve 5 stars. I test froze one cooked patty - still excellent. Next time I will cut the eggplant a tad bigger - maybe a little bigger then the size of dice - I also added chopped banana pepper & jalopeno to the rest of the batch (I made double right off the bat). I made patties and fried them in a LITTLE olive oil in a skillet on the stove. This is a great base to make your own veggie burgers - I will be adding waterchestnuts, chopped onion, shredded carrots. Can't wait until I make meatballs. This recipe is going to be a big hit at family gatherings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2004
If you like lots of flavor and spice - consider my variation on this theme: I jazzed up this dish by adding 2 extra cloves of garlic, 1 tsp of crushed red pepper flakes, 2 tbsp of balsamic vinegar and 4 tbsp white wine while steaming the eggplant. I left out the egg. I formed the mashed eggplant into 1/4" patties and baked on a lightly greased cookie sheet per the original instructions. They are incredible! Far more than I hoped for and we'll be making this dish often. Served with a side of pasta and marinara sauce. Leftovers, if there are any, would be great cold in a pita sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2003
Thank you, Aunt Mary! These were ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC! i didn't even have the time to refrigerate them at all, but agree that it would only make for an improvement if i had. i peeled the skin off, because of preference, and mashed them after steaming (you need to stir them every few minutes) and only baked them for twenty minutes because i finshed cooking them in my pot of sauce. My husband and his male friends (sorry to be stereotypical) preferred them to my meatballs! I can't wait to make them into a veggie burger, too!! This recipe will live on in my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carmela McCleary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2000
This is somewhat similar to a family recipe of mine, very yummy...even my brother who hates eggplants will eat this way!!! Just a suggestion, after baking or frying these add them into a pasta sauce and let them absorb the sauce, it will give them a different flavour!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2002
A little messy to make into balls at first, but with my trusty ice cream scooper it got a whole lot easier! This is a great substitute for meat balls. Very hearty and filling, not to mentiond delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2003
Being an eggplant lover, I find this recipe just wonderful. My wife, however, detests eggplants, but was successfully fooled when I made her these. She loved them too! These also work well as an alternative falafel. Lastly, I agree with other reviews concerning adding seasonings and mashing as you saute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2002
i changed the recipe - to have 3 cups of eggplant (peeled) and 1 cup fresh mushrooms -- it was yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2005
My boyfriend and the women in my bookclub all loved this recipe. If you like eggplant, go ahead and include total of 6-7 cups of eggplant to the recipe (rather than 4C),and add one eggwhite. Using Italian breadcrumbs adds some nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Olive Oil Roasted Eggplant with Lemon

See how to make super-simple eggplant roasted with olive oil.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States