Aunt Mary's Eggplant Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
These are awesome! I make them in balls for spaghetti and "meatball" dinner and I use this recipie to make burgers, add typical hamburger topping and enjoy! To make forming the balls/patties easier I mash the cooked eggplant. This recipe is a staple for me and my boyfriend especially since they freeze and reheat well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by moonpig
Reviewed: May 24, 2008
Ok so at first glance you think oh another aurbergine (eggplant) recipe. HOWEVER, this was beautiful and surprisingly filling. I had no eggs though so just left them out and to be honest they held together great without them. I served with a basic tomato and red wine sauce and wholewheat pasta. Delicious and BF would like them next week too (this is the guy who hates aubergines!!!!). These would be great as finger party food with a nice dip or in a pitta bread with salad. Well theres no end of possibilities. I posted a photo too. Well done Aunt Mary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moonpig

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Liverpool, Merseyside, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Whitney Ford
Reviewed: May 18, 2008
The eggplant balls came out a little bit too moist after baking for about 30 minutes. I think it was the egg since thy seemed fine before I added it. I didn't want to add too much extra bread crumbs since I thought it would make them bland. I think that next time I will use less egg and possibly increase cooking time. I did use egg substitute...so that could have been the issue rather than the recipe. I do plan on making this again, but will use more garlic to satisfy personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whitney Ford

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Richardson, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
Just made these as burgers for lunch. They taste okay, but it's missing something. I tried strawberry jam and then hot sauce, but it just didn't work with either. I will not be making these again, unless I was in the mood for spaghetti and had some tasty spaghetti sauce to use atop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chocokide

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
Unbelievably good! I modified it so that it looked like meatballs, put a little bit of mozarrella cheese in the middle and fried it in a bit of EVOO. The result was a delicious subsitute for meatballs - great in sandwiches. Thank you Aunt Mary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsDiaz

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Eagle Rock, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
Delicious recipe! My boyfriend and I loved this. I made half the batch into patties and half into meatballs. Great both ways! Definitely making this again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
We made these last night, and we loved them! I added shredded carrots and a bit of red pepper flakes and some pepper and oregano and served them on a bun with warm homemade tomato sauce. Also, I used a cup of bread crumbs and i still felt that I need more to make the consistency easier to ball up. My husband had two helpings, which is saying a lot. Next time I would add some onion and some other spices. You could do a lot with this recipe and get creative!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JuliaGulia
Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
These were awsome and fun for something different at dinner! We went the mediterranian route by adding a little curry and served with pita's and yogurt sauce. There is so much you can do with a recipie like this - thank you for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
If you like eggplant you need to try these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
I thought these were super tasty, couldn't even really tell the difference. Just dont be afriad of using spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Olive Oil Roasted Eggplant with Lemon

See how to make super-simple eggplant roasted with olive oil.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States