Aunt Mary's Eggplant Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Excellent! I served them to my family as Swedish Meatballs and everyone loved the taste and texture. I will definitely make this recipe again with pasta and marinara.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
Great Recipe! I made variations though: Roasted the eggplant at 425 for 20 minutes and blended them w/ tbsp of water
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
Well, these are definately not the prettiest things, but, boy, are they good! I used more garlic than called for, just one egg and eyeballed the bread crumbs until I could shape them (also added a little salt and pepper, to taste). My eggplant only needed to steam about 10 minutes or so. I formed them into small logs...they are really good! We make a recipe similar to these, but they are fried, so this was a nice, healthier alternative. I will be using this recipe again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
These are great, excellent veggie main course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
These were definitely different, but I liked them. I don't cook with eggplant often, so it's a bit of a learning experience. They sure weren't pretty, but hubby and I both enjoyed them. I served with "Pesto Pasta" from this site. I will make these again for a nice vegetarian option. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Awesome! I added 8 oz of finely chopped mushrooms & then adjusted the breadcrumbs according. I used a small cookie scoop to make the balls & baked at 375 for a slightly drier meatball. My grandson "hates eggplant & won't eat mushrooms", downed 8 of them. Don't ask don't tell. Thank you sooooooo much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaye

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eastman, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by redteapot
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
I have to say that I was pleasantly surprised at the flavor and texture. As they cooled they were a little firmer and easier to toss in pasta and sauce, gently. I added fresh garlic chives,basil and oregano and also seasoned bread crumbs. This gave them so much flavor and are similar to a Boca Burger Veggie patty. I would suspect these would freeze well but haven't tried it yet. A Keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by redteapot

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
I LOVE eggplant....but I hate to say this recipe didn't do much for me, and my pet peeve is bland food. Totally lacking in flavor, needs more garlic & much more seasoning. The final product tasted to much like egg for me and had too much breadcrumb which created a mushy consistency. I had high hopes for this recipe... I may consider trying again because I'm always looking for creative eggplant recipes, but will make sure to make many changes to suit our tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
even my 1 year old with only 2 teeth gobbled these up, i had leftovers the next day and used them to make a "meatball" sandwich... i used them with the "best marinara recipe" i found on all recipes and it was super tasty, i was very very impressed. oh, & my 3.5 year old loved them too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
This was my first time making eggplant and it was success. I crossed my fingers that my boyfriend would like it, and what-do-u-know- he thought it was really good :) I rinsed with sea-salt to let the bitterness sweat out before adding to the garlic mix. Added extra bread crumbs and parm cheese. We ran out of fresh parsely so I substituted with some dried basil. I love herbs so I'm sure the full parsley amount would have been heavenly. I flipped the mini patties over 15 minutes through then sprinkled cheddar goat cheese on top the last few minutes in the oven, and served with tortellini. Great recipe, a keeper, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole & Ray

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Olive Oil Roasted Eggplant with Lemon

See how to make super-simple eggplant roasted with olive oil.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States