Aunt Mary's Eggplant Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
These were definitely different, but I liked them. I don't cook with eggplant often, so it's a bit of a learning experience. They sure weren't pretty, but hubby and I both enjoyed them. I served with "Pesto Pasta" from this site. I will make these again for a nice vegetarian option. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Awesome! I added 8 oz of finely chopped mushrooms & then adjusted the breadcrumbs according. I used a small cookie scoop to make the balls & baked at 375 for a slightly drier meatball. My grandson "hates eggplant & won't eat mushrooms", downed 8 of them. Don't ask don't tell. Thank you sooooooo much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaye

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eastman, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by redteapot
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
I have to say that I was pleasantly surprised at the flavor and texture. As they cooled they were a little firmer and easier to toss in pasta and sauce, gently. I added fresh garlic chives,basil and oregano and also seasoned bread crumbs. This gave them so much flavor and are similar to a Boca Burger Veggie patty. I would suspect these would freeze well but haven't tried it yet. A Keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by redteapot

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
I LOVE eggplant....but I hate to say this recipe didn't do much for me, and my pet peeve is bland food. Totally lacking in flavor, needs more garlic & much more seasoning. The final product tasted to much like egg for me and had too much breadcrumb which created a mushy consistency. I had high hopes for this recipe... I may consider trying again because I'm always looking for creative eggplant recipes, but will make sure to make many changes to suit our tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
even my 1 year old with only 2 teeth gobbled these up, i had leftovers the next day and used them to make a "meatball" sandwich... i used them with the "best marinara recipe" i found on all recipes and it was super tasty, i was very very impressed. oh, & my 3.5 year old loved them too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
This was my first time making eggplant and it was success. I crossed my fingers that my boyfriend would like it, and what-do-u-know- he thought it was really good :) I rinsed with sea-salt to let the bitterness sweat out before adding to the garlic mix. Added extra bread crumbs and parm cheese. We ran out of fresh parsely so I substituted with some dried basil. I love herbs so I'm sure the full parsley amount would have been heavenly. I flipped the mini patties over 15 minutes through then sprinkled cheddar goat cheese on top the last few minutes in the oven, and served with tortellini. Great recipe, a keeper, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole & Ray

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
excellent!!! added a bit more garlic but they were better than beef meatballs if you ask me!! I won't make meatballs any other way now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
I peeled the eggplant. I also used dried parsley. I then rolled these into tiny balls and baked about 15 minutes. I put them on a pizza for my vegetarian daughter. She loved it. I plan to bake some more for the freezer. That way I can just toss them on the pizza frozen and bake like usual. These come out very much like the vegetarian meat substitutes that are so expensive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
It tasted really good, but my family did not like the eggplant chunks so next time I make it I will shred the eggplant. I shredded the eggplant and it was really great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jenkintown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
This was really good! I had some eggplants and didn't know to use them up, and this recipe was perfect! I followed the recipe and made balls and sauteed them then simmered in a previously made spaghetti sauce. Everyone enjoyed the spaghetti and "meatless" meatballs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BkDuran

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Olive Oil Roasted Eggplant with Lemon

See how to make super-simple eggplant roasted with olive oil.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States