Aunt Mary's Eggplant Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
These were definitely different, but I liked them. I don't cook with eggplant often, so it's a bit of a learning experience. They sure weren't pretty, but hubby and I both enjoyed them. I served with "Pesto Pasta" from this site. I will make these again for a nice vegetarian option. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Awesome! I added 8 oz of finely chopped mushrooms & then adjusted the breadcrumbs according. I used a small cookie scoop to make the balls & baked at 375 for a slightly drier meatball. My grandson "hates eggplant & won't eat mushrooms", downed 8 of them. Don't ask don't tell. Thank you sooooooo much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaye

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eastman, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by redteapot
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
I have to say that I was pleasantly surprised at the flavor and texture. As they cooled they were a little firmer and easier to toss in pasta and sauce, gently. I added fresh garlic chives,basil and oregano and also seasoned bread crumbs. This gave them so much flavor and are similar to a Boca Burger Veggie patty. I would suspect these would freeze well but haven't tried it yet. A Keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by redteapot

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
I LOVE eggplant....but I hate to say this recipe didn't do much for me, and my pet peeve is bland food. Totally lacking in flavor, needs more garlic & much more seasoning. The final product tasted to much like egg for me and had too much breadcrumb which created a mushy consistency. I had high hopes for this recipe... I may consider trying again because I'm always looking for creative eggplant recipes, but will make sure to make many changes to suit our tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
even my 1 year old with only 2 teeth gobbled these up, i had leftovers the next day and used them to make a "meatball" sandwich... i used them with the "best marinara recipe" i found on all recipes and it was super tasty, i was very very impressed. oh, & my 3.5 year old loved them too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
This was my first time making eggplant and it was success. I crossed my fingers that my boyfriend would like it, and what-do-u-know- he thought it was really good :) I rinsed with sea-salt to let the bitterness sweat out before adding to the garlic mix. Added extra bread crumbs and parm cheese. We ran out of fresh parsely so I substituted with some dried basil. I love herbs so I'm sure the full parsley amount would have been heavenly. I flipped the mini patties over 15 minutes through then sprinkled cheddar goat cheese on top the last few minutes in the oven, and served with tortellini. Great recipe, a keeper, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole & Ray

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
excellent!!! added a bit more garlic but they were better than beef meatballs if you ask me!! I won't make meatballs any other way now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
I peeled the eggplant. I also used dried parsley. I then rolled these into tiny balls and baked about 15 minutes. I put them on a pizza for my vegetarian daughter. She loved it. I plan to bake some more for the freezer. That way I can just toss them on the pizza frozen and bake like usual. These come out very much like the vegetarian meat substitutes that are so expensive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
It tasted really good, but my family did not like the eggplant chunks so next time I make it I will shred the eggplant. I shredded the eggplant and it was really great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jenkintown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
This was really good! I had some eggplants and didn't know to use them up, and this recipe was perfect! I followed the recipe and made balls and sauteed them then simmered in a previously made spaghetti sauce. Everyone enjoyed the spaghetti and "meatless" meatballs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BkDuran

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Olive Oil Roasted Eggplant with Lemon

See how to make super-simple eggplant roasted with olive oil.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States