Aunt Mary's Eggplant Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
Pretty tasty, but next time I'll dice the eggplant much smaller to hide it better. I didn't have fresh parsley so I substituted a teaspoon or so of Italian seasoning. Served them with pasta sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
I loved this recipe and my boyfriend also loved it! I made it into patties rather than balls, and do noticed that the thicker patties remained mushy in the inside, while the thinner ones got all yummy and crusty. I didn't have any Parmesan cheese available, but I used a cup of shredded cheese, and it worked wonderfully. It would be important to add a previous step, which is to salt the cubed eggplant and leave it for about an hour and then rinse it. Skipping this step could ruin the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmberRose

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
These were super easy and complimentary to a simple pasta sauce. I LOVE that these are baked instead of fried! I preferred to bake the balls longer and at a higher temperature to get the desired crispiness. I raised to 450 after 15min and baked another 10 minutes. Next time, and there WILL be a "next time", I will make my balls flatter and shaped like patties. This allows for a dish that strongly resembles a VERY EASY eggplant parmesan and cuts out several steps. Served over wheat penne topped with homemade sauce and Parmesan. Great meatless meal and very filling. Thanks for this uncomplicated easy recipe for eggplant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OdaMae

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2012
Bland and unappealing in presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 22, 2012
WOW! Excellent! I have a profound eggplant hater in my DH. My daughter and I just LOVE eggplant. couple of times a year i do the fried eggplant patty as a treat for us (calories! - fried, you know) and then we rather avoid it. This recipe is WONDERFUL - even DH says they're ok. I find it absolutely marvelous that they're steamed and baked - and are as crispy as I like them when they come out of the oven! Flavorfull !- an awesome original idea to create "meat" balls and patties with eggplant. The only thing i do different here are my herbs and spices - I add/change only to my family's taste (I add a bit of grated onion, - bit of italian seasoning - more garlic) Thank you so much for this wonderful recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sheila

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2012
Outstanding. Added roasted peppers, cause I had to use them up, and it added a little color. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
I made these today and I can say they are divine! I shaped them into 9 nice sized "meatballs", baked them and put 1 cup of Prego Heartsmart spaghetti sauce on them with a topping of 2 tablespoons of grated Parmesan cheese. It just blew me away!! Next time I will make them into "burgers". Thank you so much for this wonderful recipe Lynette!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warrenville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
Will make these again! Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori In Ct

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
we don't make balls, we make burgers! excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAUREEN38

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waltham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Excellent! I served them to my family as Swedish Meatballs and everyone loved the taste and texture. I will definitely make this recipe again with pasta and marinara.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Olive Oil Roasted Eggplant with Lemon

See how to make super-simple eggplant roasted with olive oil.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States