Aunt Mary's Eggplant Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
I really loved these! I had only used eggplant with mozzarella/tomato/basil combo in the past, so I was looking for something new. I think these could be better than real meatballs! What a great flavor. I didn't have all the ingredients on hand, so I used parm. out of the jar, and I used jarred parsley. I added fresh rosemary. I think you could change it all up and it would be awesome. Even better for me, this makes awesome baby food that is nutritious and full of flavor. We all really liked it, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
I used a cup of bread crumbs and these came out tasty and with a very nice crunch. I'm willing to bet they make a nice patty as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
I made these and used a few mods suggested by other reviewers. I peeled the eggplant and sweated it with salt after dicing to remove bitterness..it was a very large eggplant. I added a little balsamic vinegar and crushed red pepper flakes while steaming. I doubled the recipe because it is a pretty labor intensive effort. I was hoping to fool my son, who does not like eggplant, but does like zucchini. I was hoping I could get more vegetables into his diet. Unlike other reviewers, it didn't win him over. My husband and I like them, but we didn't love them. For all the work, it wasn't worth it to us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
These were delicious. My carnivorous husband liked them. I didn't have whole eggs (oops) so I used egg whites. I also used Italian seasoned panko crumbs. I added a little salt as well. I followed other reviewers tips and used an ice cream scoop to portion them. I baked them on parchment paper drizzled with a little olive oil, they came out just right, a little crispy. They were so good that I could have easily doubled the recipe, as this amount wasn't enough for three of us. I served with spaghetti and marinara sauce. I will definitely make this again! Thanks Aunt Mary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
Yum, yum, yum! Great job with this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS !!! I made this along with "Sweetened Spaghetti Squash" and served it with a small amount of tomato sauce....my family (who normally do not like eggplant or squash) LOVED it !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntington Station, New York, USA
Living In: Morristown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
Fairly easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
We loved this recipe, but made a few modifications. We used nondairy Daiya cheese instead of parmesan cheese and we put the recipe in the cruisinart blender and made small balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
can be frozen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
My family never really liked eggplant until we made this recipe. I didn't change a thing, and it is absolutely delicious. We make it every time we get eggplant from our farm share.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Olive Oil Roasted Eggplant with Lemon

See how to make super-simple eggplant roasted with olive oil.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States