Aunt Mary's Eggplant Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2003
My husband and I are on a diet and I thought these would be a perfect replacement for real meatballs. They're not bad... I'm eating them right now in a pita with Zaziki (greek yogurt sauce with cucumbers and garlic)... I added more garlic, gyro seasoning, pepper, and onion powder to the mixture, which made them smell wonderful while they were cooking in the oven. The flavor is pretty good but it's definitely no meatball substitute as it does not have the texture I was looking for. I might try to make this again with lean ground beef instead. I guess I expected them too much to taste AND feel like meat. They look really good, they smell fantastic, but they just don't feel like how I thought they were supposed to. I'm sure vegetarians will like this recipe, but for carnivores and meat fans like myself, it just doesn't cut it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gimmickchick

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Diessen Am Ammersee, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2003
On one of his days off my son made this recipe. He had to struggle to make 12 balls, but, oh how good they are!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2003
This is a good recipe. I would have enjoyed it more but I found the skin tough. I will try again with the summer Japanese eggplants to see if that helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oak Ridge, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2003
Being an eggplant lover, I find this recipe just wonderful. My wife, however, detests eggplants, but was successfully fooled when I made her these. She loved them too! These also work well as an alternative falafel. Lastly, I agree with other reviews concerning adding seasonings and mashing as you saute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2003
After reading all the reviews, I kept an open mind when trying this recipe. I mashed a cup of wheat thins to bits to use for bread crumbs as i had none. That didn't make a dent, so I scrounged through my cover and settled on corn meal. Not for everyone, but it adds an interesting crunch. I too used more water than called for, and it desperately needed salt. Other than that, tasty veggie dish, and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2003
Thank you, Aunt Mary! These were ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC! i didn't even have the time to refrigerate them at all, but agree that it would only make for an improvement if i had. i peeled the skin off, because of preference, and mashed them after steaming (you need to stir them every few minutes) and only baked them for twenty minutes because i finshed cooking them in my pot of sauce. My husband and his male friends (sorry to be stereotypical) preferred them to my meatballs! I can't wait to make them into a veggie burger, too!! This recipe will live on in my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2002
well i tried it....o-well.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2002
This is an awesome recipe. My husband is a very picky eater when it comes to vegetables, but he loved these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2002
A little messy to make into balls at first, but with my trusty ice cream scooper it got a whole lot easier! This is a great substitute for meat balls. Very hearty and filling, not to mentiond delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2002
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Olive Oil Roasted Eggplant with Lemon

See how to make super-simple eggplant roasted with olive oil.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States