Aunt Mary's Eggplant Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2005
Very pleasant surprise. Tasty even though neither I nor my husband like vegetables. Making them into balls didn't work so well. In the future, I will peel the eggplant and make sure the cubes are completely coated with breadcrumbs, then toss with the other ingredients
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Hopkinsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2005
Absolutely fabulous. I make this to take along to all occasions and it becomes the talk of the table - everyone wants the recipe. I team it with tomato and basil sauce and often partner it with fresh pasta for a tasty meal. Note: add some mozzerella for an extra cheesy taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
This was very good. We really enjoyed it. My daughter who does not like eggplant said this was good. I did as another reviewer suggested and added 1 extra clove of garlic, balsamic vinegar, and red pepper flakes. I also topped it with marinara sauce and mozzerella cheese for the kids. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
I love these!! My 5 & 3 yo boys had no idea they weren't "real" meatballs. A great way to use up eggplant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2004
These were really hearty and not too hard to make. A big hit with veggie friends, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2004
Super. I'm always looking for healthy food that actually tastes good. These fit the bill. I've baked them on a seasoned baking stone with no oil. Just a touch of cooking spray will keep them from sticking to an ordinary pan. I put everything in my food processor & used a large spoon to scoop & flatten it into patties. They freeze well unbaked. Thanks Lynette! I can't believe that I actually like veggie burgers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Knewasser

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Binghamton, New York, USA
Living In: Riverview, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2004
These are pretty good. My mother always make these, but I didn't have her recipe so I came here. These came very close. I mashed the eggplant after it was done cooking and i also peeled the eggplant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by calead910

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2004
Love it Love it Love it. I peel the egplant so that it mixes better. My husbands favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2004
This was pretty easy, kind of messy but got great reviews. I DID add chili pepper flakes and a bit more salt and break crumbs. Friends of ours ate this with a falafal yougurt/dill sauce in pita bread. Next time i'm going to try the balsamic vinger/chili pepper steam/cooking suggestion by one of the other reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2004
If you like lots of flavor and spice - consider my variation on this theme: I jazzed up this dish by adding 2 extra cloves of garlic, 1 tsp of crushed red pepper flakes, 2 tbsp of balsamic vinegar and 4 tbsp white wine while steaming the eggplant. I left out the egg. I formed the mashed eggplant into 1/4" patties and baked on a lightly greased cookie sheet per the original instructions. They are incredible! Far more than I hoped for and we'll be making this dish often. Served with a side of pasta and marinara sauce. Leftovers, if there are any, would be great cold in a pita sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Olive Oil Roasted Eggplant with Lemon

See how to make super-simple eggplant roasted with olive oil.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States