Aunt Mary's Eggplant Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2006
These were great. I peeled the eggplant first(my personal preference).I found it easier to steam the eggplant in a larger pan when using one large eggplant. I also mashed it when blending the ingredients. When baking in the oven, I turned the balls over 1/2 way through to get that golden brown look and a better texture. More garlic and a couple dashes of of red pepper flakes gave it a great kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2006
I eliminated the olive oil, opting for non-stick spray and a non-stick pan. Used food processor to grate the eggplant (used the long, slender Japanese eggplants). Very pleased with the results. Will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taylor, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Shanghai, Shanghai (Municipality) , China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
Oh my gosh this was great! I don't like eggplant that much but eating it like this makes me love it. My whole family loved it and I have forwarded this recipe onto several of my friends and they all think its great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2005
I made these eggplant balls and tried frying them in a fry pan. They tended to fall apart, I will try baking them next time. The taste was good, and we ate every bite. I made them again, and baked them in the oven. They were much better and did not fall apart nearly as much. I served them with pasta and a simple marinara sauce. Next time I will try stirring in 1/4 cup TVP for improved texture. This recipe is definitely a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MonaG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Graniteville, Vermont, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
This recipie is excellent; I used them in hamburgers and my family preferred them to normal hamburgers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2005
My boyfriend and the women in my bookclub all loved this recipe. If you like eggplant, go ahead and include total of 6-7 cups of eggplant to the recipe (rather than 4C),and add one eggwhite. Using Italian breadcrumbs adds some nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2005
This was great. I made a sauce of yogurt, fresh dill, parsley and fresh cucumber and served the eggplant balls on focaccia rolls. My husband was forced to eat eggplant as a child and consequently hated it. The only way he will eat eggplant is in parmesan. The eggplant balls are a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2005
Very pleasant surprise. Tasty even though neither I nor my husband like vegetables. Making them into balls didn't work so well. In the future, I will peel the eggplant and make sure the cubes are completely coated with breadcrumbs, then toss with the other ingredients
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Hopkinsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2005
Absolutely fabulous. I make this to take along to all occasions and it becomes the talk of the table - everyone wants the recipe. I team it with tomato and basil sauce and often partner it with fresh pasta for a tasty meal. Note: add some mozzerella for an extra cheesy taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
This was very good. We really enjoyed it. My daughter who does not like eggplant said this was good. I did as another reviewer suggested and added 1 extra clove of garlic, balsamic vinegar, and red pepper flakes. I also topped it with marinara sauce and mozzerella cheese for the kids. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Olive Oil Roasted Eggplant with Lemon

See how to make super-simple eggplant roasted with olive oil.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States