Aunt Mary's Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 4, 2008
This chocolate cake is the first chocolate cake I have ever made from scratch. I will NEVER buy boxed again! I used 6 tbs of coco powder in the dry mix instead of baking squares because I didn't have any, so I just added 2 extra tablespoons of butter to the milk and water mix and it turned out wonderful. Also I've never made sour milk before so I took another reviewers advice and put 1 1/2 tsps. of vinegar in the milk but it still was not sour in 5 minutes. I put it in the microwave for 20 seconds and it was seperated and was peeerfect sour milk. Thank you for this recipe. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
149 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2004
Thhis chocolate cake is excellent. Moist, chocolatey, delicious! I'll never use a box again! But one caveat...do not use spray to grease the pan or the bottom of the cake will stick. I solved this problem by using butter and flour to grease the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
i loved this cake. it was super-easy and came out so moist and yummy. why do people even use box mixes?! i used a cream cheese frosting which didn't go that well. next time i will try a whipped cream frosting! i had no problem souring the milk. i just added a bit of vinegar to the milk and waited about 20 min.!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
This was a big hit, used 1.5 cups of sugar, and used regular milk, not soured, came out great. Used chocolate frosting III, My family is already asking for it for the next birthday party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2000
Too much sugar, 1 1/2 cups makes the cake to candy tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
Aunt Mary has come up with an AMAZING chocolate cake! Very moist! Turned out fantastic and it was SO easy. I was a bit worried, as the batter was very runny, but it baked up nice and fluffy. I did add about 8 more minutes to the baking time just to make sure it was done inside. Thanks so much for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEAUTSBELLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erimess
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
I thought this was OK but didn't think there was anything special or exciting about it. I felt it was more of a snack cake, thought it was plenty sweet enough on its own and didn't frost it -- that would've just been too much. It would be very nice if ingredients could be listed in the correct order - much easier to make sure everything's gone in that's supposed to -- and to keep me from panicking when it lists adding eggs and I don't see them... oh wait, they're up at the TOP of that list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2002
I have made this cake several times, it is fantastic, nice and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2004
This is now my resident chocolate cake. Very easy to make and everyone loves it. The hardest thing is getting the milk to sour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
Very good – an easy to mix up, uncomplicated, no creaming required medium-dark chocolate cake. The batter is “runny” because it’s supposed to be. There are many similar chocolate cake batters just like this that bake up with excellent results, just as this does. I have a preference for butter over margarine, so I made that substitution, as well as using leftover coffee for the water. Rather than souring the milk (1 T. vinegar or lemon juice and enough milk to make 1 cup – let stand about 10 minutes), I used buttermilk that I had on hand and think is a better alternative. I made 12 cupcakes with a half recipe and they baked nicely (no caving in, no “muffin tops” and no high doming) in 20 minutes. This cake is moist, chocolaty and flavorful. I frosted them with a basic vanilla buttercream frosting. I can’t imagine finding anything to dislike about this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States