Aunt Mary's Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
This cake is delicious!!! I usually don't substitute anything when following a recipe but I did not have sour milk and I did not have vinegar to make the sour milk, so instead I used sour cream (1/2C). The batter is very runny but the cake turned out supper moist. We all loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
Aunt Mary has come up with an AMAZING chocolate cake! Very moist! Turned out fantastic and it was SO easy. I was a bit worried, as the batter was very runny, but it baked up nice and fluffy. I did add about 8 more minutes to the baking time just to make sure it was done inside. Thanks so much for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEAUTSBELLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
Yum! This cake turned out very moist. The texture and flavor on this was almost identical to a Hostess chocolate cupcake. I'm hooked, this is a wonderful cake!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
i loved this cake. it was super-easy and came out so moist and yummy. why do people even use box mixes?! i used a cream cheese frosting which didn't go that well. next time i will try a whipped cream frosting! i had no problem souring the milk. i just added a bit of vinegar to the milk and waited about 20 min.!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
It is a good recipe. The texture was nice and fluffy. The only thing I did differently was put less sugar and used semi-sweet chocolate instead of the unsweetened. I will be making this cake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
So rich and delicious! I made the 'best buttercream' to go with it, though now I wish I'd used a dark chocolate fudge type frosting, as this cake is sweet enough without the uber-sweet buttercream. Even better the next day! (if it lasts!) Edit: If you have a stand-by Texas sheet cake recipe, try using the pour-over FROSTING on top of this cake. If I wasn't already married, I'm pretty sure I could use it to convince someone to marry and/or impregnate me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillithmaximus

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smithville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
This chocolate cake is the first chocolate cake I have ever made from scratch. I will NEVER buy boxed again! I used 6 tbs of coco powder in the dry mix instead of baking squares because I didn't have any, so I just added 2 extra tablespoons of butter to the milk and water mix and it turned out wonderful. Also I've never made sour milk before so I took another reviewers advice and put 1 1/2 tsps. of vinegar in the milk but it still was not sour in 5 minutes. I put it in the microwave for 20 seconds and it was seperated and was peeerfect sour milk. Thank you for this recipe. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
149 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
Perfect! One very important change though: the time is too long. Cooked for the time stated it makes a good cake. But it really needs less time and it's AMAZING. I make two 9 inch rounds at 25 minutes and that may even be a few minutes too long. I make it as cupcakes at about 16 minutes. Nice, moist crumb, very delicate and slightly denser than boxed, with a slight crunch. This is better than boxed, of course, since there are no trans fats or corn syrup! To make the sour milk just put 1 1/2 tsp vinegar in the milk and wait five minutes for it to thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wendy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erimess
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
I thought this was OK but didn't think there was anything special or exciting about it. I felt it was more of a snack cake, thought it was plenty sweet enough on its own and didn't frost it -- that would've just been too much. It would be very nice if ingredients could be listed in the correct order - much easier to make sure everything's gone in that's supposed to -- and to keep me from panicking when it lists adding eggs and I don't see them... oh wait, they're up at the TOP of that list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2006
This was a good recipe. My family enjoyed it. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States