Aunt Mary's Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by LaurenMV
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
Made my cake with 1 cup Splenda and 1 cup sugar and used regular milk. Used two 9-inch cake pans and baked at 350 for 25 minutes. The cake it ok - tastes like a chocolate cake, wasn't moist, wasn't dry and it didn't crumble when I put the icing on. Iced with Chocolate Frosting I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaurenMV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Felton, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
Followed the directions to a tee. I didn't like this cake at all... and the second day... it was worse.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
Ok, what in the world is so great and different about this cake to make it so special?? I followed this recipe exactly and its just ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
I'm kind of a cake snob so I almost turned up my nose at this super easy recipe. I'm glad I didn't because it is unbelievably moist and satisfying without frosting. I also cut back the sugar to 1.5 cups and used really past-its-date sour smelling milk. I can't wait for my milk to go bad so that I can make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
This recipe was amazing! I followed the directions exactly (except I didn't use sour milk, just regular). My husband ate this cake everyday until the pan was gone. I frosted it with the 'Chocolate Frosting II' recipe from All Recipes. If you are looking for an excellent chocolate cake recipe, use this one, you will not be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
This cake was very good, very moist, and just the right flavor! I will definitely keep this and use it again for a homemade chocolate cake. Definitely needed the full 35 min. for baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
First cake I ever made for my boyfriends birthday and all his french friends... great reviews, very happy with results... I made the sour milk with lemon juice and regular milk... it came off perfectly from the pan, frosted perfectly, not at all crumbly and very moist
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
To make "sour milk" for this recipe, put 1/2 tsp fresh lemon juice or white distilled vinegar in a 1/2 cup measuring cup and fill with milk. May need to wait ten minutes or so until milk curdles lightly (use before big clumping occures). GREAT chocolate cake recipe!. Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RASHELLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elkhart, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
So so good. I didn't exactly let the chocolate mixture cool to room temperature...didn't have the time for that...and everything still turned out great. Awesome with a buttercream frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REBEKAHMO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springdale, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
This was so easy and a huge hit with my family. The comment on the submission says it's better the second day and this is totally TRUE! As good as it was out of the oven the next day it was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States