Aunt Mary's Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
Outstanding!! I was looking for a chocolate cake recipe made with sour milk and this one reminded me of one my mother used to make. It was the best chocolate cake I've had in many years. I reduced the amount of sugar to 1 1/2 cups and it was perfect. So moist and no frosting needed - we served it with real whipped cream. I will definitely be making this again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
This recipe was a success for me, I did not have bakers chocolate so subsituted 1/4 cup cooca and I sifted all the dry ingredients and creamed the margarine and sugar, It was moist and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
Amazing cake! This is now my go-to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
It is a nice recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
I used 3/4 c baking cocoa and added another 2T butter as I didn't have chocolate squares and subbed hot coffee for the water. Fantastic chocolate cake! Thank you for sharing Aunt Mary's recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
Very moist, but too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
this was by far the best cake iv ever made :) i did use 6 Tbs of cocoa instead of squares turned out beautiful my new go to recipe it is going in the book :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shahn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kerikeri, Northland, New Zealand
Living In: Whangarei, Northland, New Zealand
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
The cake turned out great with a wonderful texture and was very moist. I used butter instead of margarine and greased the pan with shortening and it didn't stick at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
Blah & bland. A real lack of chocolatey fudginess. Disappointing-will not make again :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
Very good – an easy to mix up, uncomplicated, no creaming required medium-dark chocolate cake. The batter is “runny” because it’s supposed to be. There are many similar chocolate cake batters just like this that bake up with excellent results, just as this does. I have a preference for butter over margarine, so I made that substitution, as well as using leftover coffee for the water. Rather than souring the milk (1 T. vinegar or lemon juice and enough milk to make 1 cup – let stand about 10 minutes), I used buttermilk that I had on hand and think is a better alternative. I made 12 cupcakes with a half recipe and they baked nicely (no caving in, no “muffin tops” and no high doming) in 20 minutes. This cake is moist, chocolaty and flavorful. I frosted them with a basic vanilla buttercream frosting. I can’t imagine finding anything to dislike about this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States