Aunt Mary's Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
The best cake I ever made. The entire family loved it when I made it for my dgt-in-laws birthday. Usually some one doesn't like something but this was a hit with everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blazer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
My father went crazy over this cake...he prefers it with cream cheese icing to bring out the subtle chocolate. Nicely balances the icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beautyinsimplicity
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
This did not turn out well at all. It was too light, fell apart coming out of the pans, and couldn't be iced back together. Also, not a very chocolatey cake. An old standby "6-minute Chocolate Cake" is much easier and better tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
I don't know what I did wrong (I followed the recipe exactly), but it just wasn't good. It wasn't good textured, it wasn't good tasting. Maybe I'll give it a go some other time, but I'll probably just find a new recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
Very moist. To make it gluten free I used Bob Mill's all-purpose GF flour. I add just a little bit of vanilla extract. Everyone loved it! I could eat the whole myself!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
This was a big hit, used 1.5 cups of sugar, and used regular milk, not soured, came out great. Used chocolate frosting III, My family is already asking for it for the next birthday party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
I have made this cake twice now. Both times it turned out great. I don't have sour milk, so used regular fat free. I don't think it is too sweet, but I LOVE CHOCOLATE! I serve it with seven minute frosting! YUM! Thanks for a great recipe my whole family enjoys.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Malinda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
Pretty good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
THE BEST!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
really moist and tasty!! made it for my daughters party and there is none left over!!I soured the milk like another reviewer suggested and added a little vinegar and let it sit for about twenty mins. . I frosted the cake with special buttercream frosting from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Center Barnstead, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States