Aunt Mary's Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Nandini
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
God Bless you Aunt Mary! I finally found the recipe I have been looking for-the perfect Chocolate Cake. It was moist, chocolatey and very very tasty. I teamed it with the Chocolate Cream Frosting II from this site and had a great hit with the family for my cousin's birthday! Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
In my view, this chocolate cake is pretty mediocre. I used twice the chocolate called for in the recipe and it still wasn't very chocolate-y. The 1C of water makes the batter very runny. Perhaps substituting milk for the water and cutting back on the amount a bit would help. I wouldn't bother with this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
I cant have gluten but I made this for my fam anyways, and they loved it. I hate buying pre made anything and this was the perfect chocolate cake. I made it with chocolate buttercream frosting and it was a hit! Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat_23

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
I must have done something wrong, I didn't love this cake. It wasn't very moist and it didn't have much chocolate flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Whole Family LOVED This cake for my sisters birthday i would definitely reccomend this to a friend
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
I am not sure about this recipe. When I think of chocolate cake, richness and fluffy come to mind. I put all of the ingredients together and baked it and it actually came out very good tasting but they came out like brownies. This is a thick cake and does not rise much. To me, this was disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Wonderful!! I kept asking my mom for My Grandma Mary K's chocolate sheet cake recipe. She couldn't find it so I used this one. It was fabulous! It tasted just like I remembered. It also does taste like a hostess cupcake and if I can find a good filling recipe I will make cupcakes out of it with cream filling. Yum!! I did not have chocolate squares so I used 6 T. cocoa + 2 T butter. I frosted it with Chocolate Frosting III from this site. *Note: Mom found grandma's recipe and the only difference was that she added another 1/2 c. of shortening which I do no think is necessary. This recipe is terrific!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vincennes, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Just made this for our Christmas dinner. FABULOUS! So moist (wrapped in plastic as another reviewer suggested). The batter was very liquid, but baked perfectly. I did add about 3T baker's cocoa. Topped it with chocolate butter cream, whipped to be extra fluffy. The cake didn't need a heavy frosting. This will be MY chocolate cake recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allegan, Michigan, USA
Living In: Yellville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
This was just okay. I attempted to make this cake into a layer cake. It did NOT work. I thoroughly greased the pans, but when I attempted to take the first layer out of the pan, the top of the cake came out while the bottom of the cake stayed firmly planted in the pan. Not good. It was a good opportunity to taste the cake at least. :o) The cake was nothing special. The texture was a bit spongey and it did not taste overly chocolatey. So putting aside the fact that the cake crumbled, I just did not really like the cake all that much either. Oh well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIMALLI1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
This was excellent...followed directions except I made my own sour milk (1/2 cup 2% milk w/ 2 tsp. white vinegar...let sit 15 min. until curdled or beginning to curdle). Cake was very moist and delicious chocolatey flavor. I did not find this too sweet. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States