Aunt Mary's Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
I just made this cake today, and if truth be told, I haven't made a scratch cake in about 15 years. It came out moist and flavorful. I made a few changes: I used butter instead of margarine; all I had for margarine was "I can't believe it's not butter". I did not have unsweetened chocolate squares, so I used the substitution on the Hershey's Cocoa box. I only used 1 1/2 cups of sugar; it was plenty sweet. I think box cakes are a thing of the past for my baking needs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
I was really pleased with this recipe. I was worried when the batter looked extremely thin, but proceeded to bake 18 cupcakes and they came out very moist and chocolatey. The kids liked them alot. Thanks for an easy, delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GiGi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Randolph, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
I followed someone's suggestion, and reduced the sugar to 1 1/2 cups. I regret that, and would have liked the additional sugar. Next time I'll use full amount. In a 9x13 glass pan, needed an extra 7 minutes of cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
Awesome cake! I doubled this recipe for my daughters birthday cake though I left out 1/2 a cup of the liquid (used 1 cup of coffee, 1 cup of water and 1/2 cup of milk for the doubled version) and had to sub the second 2oz of unsweetened chocolate with cocoa powder but no big deal there. I carved this cake into a Dora and it was dense enough to hold up to that for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
super yummy and moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
I don't know how anyone else got this recipe to work, but basic bakeshop principles show this recipe is off...aside from the fact there is not enough chocolate...this is why you do not bake when extremely tired....you miss big things. I now have a huge mess in my oven to clean. Thank goodness I have a cake mix in the cupboard for emergencies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mandiebaby

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
Made this cake twice. Both times the chocolate ended up separating a bit, so it was like I had small chocolate flakes in the cake. Also a very mild chocolate taste - I personally like a richer chocolate taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
I'm totally baffled as to why some reviewers gave this 4 or 5 stars. If I were to take a bite of this without knowing what it was, I'd never identify it as "chocolate" anything. I should have trusted my instincts when I saw a chocolate cake recipe on the wrapper for the baking chocolate that called for the entire bar, and this one was only calling for 2 squares. I'm going back to Duncan Hines.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by endoalir
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
I got many compliments on this cake and it disappeared pretty fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Billings, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
I was very pleased with this recipe. I never use margarine but use butter due to the GMO's in margarine. Very great tasting cake. I use the buttercream frosting referenced. And was very proud to present the cake to my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa B.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States