Aunt Mary's Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
This is a wonderful recipe and I will use it again. I frosted it with vanilla frosting and placed strawberries and blueberries to make a flag cake for the Independence Day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
Too much sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rfraziercfp

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
I'm only giving this recipe 3 stars. It's not that it was bad at all. It had a pleasant taste to it. However, the batter was rather watery. I wanted to use this cake as a base to a black forest cake so I wanted layers, obviously. I only have springform pans because they are easiest to work with! Lets just say I had to place a big sheet of aluminum foil on my bottom rack ;) lol so beware!!! But like I said, it just came out of the oven and I nibbled what dripped off to tast with my own chocolate buttercream frosting and is DID taste delish. Oh, and under no circumstances was I able to use the spoiled milk. I had it all ready in my measuring cup and it went down the drain ;) I used regular no fat milk. Which very well could have been my problem, but I did add an extra 1/3 cup of flour before placing in prepared pans. Hmm... now I'm not sure what it is! Oh well, I will make this again but I willll be making a few moree changes!! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greenfield Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
Yummmmmmmy! This cake was scrumptious, fast, and easy! Here are the changes I made, only due to the ingredients I had on hand: I used unsalted butter instead of margarine, whole fat buttermilk instead of sour milk, I sifted all the dry ingredients together a few times, and I did NOT reduce the amount of sugar. The batter was very runny, but even still it baked up fluffy and moist after 25 minutes in my oven (baked in a glass 9x13 dish.) While the cake was still hot, I poked some holes in it with a fork, and poured over a can of store bought chocolate frosting i had melted in the microwave. After cooling enough to eat, it was delectable!! Enjoy this recipe-it's a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
turned out great :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FrackFamily5
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
This was easy. Scaled it back to 12 serving for cupcakes. I thought the flavor was light. Cake moist. I paired it with fluffy pnut butter icing and the icing flavor was prominent. All in all good. Only change was butter for margarine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
Pretty yummy! I made this one because I was short of most items for baking (no buttermilk, no vanilla, no nothing!) and it turned out pretty scrummy. I DID, however, use twice the chocolate and extra butter. Only cons were that with only 2oz of chocolate it's probably not going to fix those cravings, and it was VERY sticky in the pan- maybe too liquid? Should have lined with parchment paper...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
Awesome cake, it's moist and my family loves it I make it every time I bake a chocolate cake. I have made it several times and they all worked great!! The one thing I make different is I use butter milk instead of sour milk but it turns out just as good!! Thank you for this great cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
Not sure what I did wrong but this cake was a flop. Batter is very runny not sure what went wrong. I will lock for another choc. cake won't try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
This is a great cake recipe. I made it into cupcakes and iced it with Peanut Butter Frosting from this site. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States