Aunt Mariah's Lemon Sponge Cups Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
My kids loved them cold
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Recipe Group Selection for the week of February 15, 2014 – I was a little behind getting to this for Recipe Group, but I’m so glad I did. This is a wonderful dessert, especially nice served with fresh fruit. The sponge cake portion of the dessert never browned nicely for me, but I’m sure that’s due to my oven. However the flavor was wonderful and lemon custard was creamy and delicious. Expect the dessert to settle as it cools.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
Recipe Group Selection: 15, February 2014 ~ The lemon dessert was beautiful when it came out of the oven, but within 5 minutes they all fell. I don't think it affected the taste, but it sure did the appearance. I liked the taste and texture, but my family and extended family did not. I think the lemon taste comes through a little stronger when the dish is warm as opposed to room temp. I'm glad I tried, and I liked it, but doubtful I will be making it again as I don't need to eat 6 bowls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
This recipe for lemon sponge cake was very simple and just delicious! I served these with a good dollop of fresh whipped cream. Yummy stuff! Thanks recipe group for this weeks selection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
DELICIOUS! This is a nice blend of custard and sponge cake. I loved it served warm and hubby loved it cooled down. It's great either way. No changes are needed to the recipe. The cooking time was right on. Thank you Adrian for sharing such a DELICIOUS recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Photo by Shearone
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
This recipe is a great new find!! These lemon sponge cups do have a delicious cake top and a creamy custard underneath. I had a cup of Half 'n Half that needed to be used so I used that and then added 1/2 cup of regular milk. The lemon I used yielded almost a tablespoon of zest and 2 1/2 tablespoons of lemon juice. Even though the recipe does not indicate to oil the cups, I did lightly spray with oil before filling. Adrian23, thank you for sharing this delightful recipe. I will definitely make it again and again! I voted for and made this Recipe Group Selection for the week of February 15, 2014.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Photo by LauraJLS
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I followed this recipe exactly and it was perfect. We ate it warm with sliced strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LauraJLS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Palm Coast, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
Great recipe, but one cup of sugar was a bit much. I will try 3/4 cup for the next batch. Also, the mix will fill four 4x2" ramekins. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by capecodcook79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barnstable, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by holly
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
My favorite new dessert! I followed the directions as listed & it came out perfect. Served with sliced strawberrys, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Tart Lemon Triangles

These Tart Lemon Triangles are an elegant and quick dessert.

Chef John's Lighter Lemon Curd

All the rich, lemony goodness with less fat and fewer calories.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States