Aunt Kaye's Rhubarb Dump Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2005
I received this exact recipe from a friend about 4 yrs ago. My favorite jello flavor for this is cherry, but I have tried many others that were very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Atascocita, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
I had to change this up a little and make a more traditional dump cake, because I didn't have the jello. I used lite cherry pie filling (2 cans) and a can of crushed pineapple and mixed it with fresh rhubarb. Lined a 12" x 9" pan with the mixture, dumped a yellow cake mix on top, added the butter to this and baked at 425 for about 30 minutes! Delish!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Munford, Alabama, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2005
VERY YUMMY AND EVEN BETTER, IT WAS QUICK AND EASY TO MAKE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2007
Yummy yum yum. Fabulously delicious, so easy, too. (I used sugar free jello & it was just wonderful.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2005
My husband and I both loved this cake. I made a few modifications, I added nutmeg to the rhubarb, (they go so well together) and used 1/2 cup splenda instead of white sugar and it was plenty sweet. For the water I put two heaping tbsps of orange concentrate in a 1 cup measure, with l tsp vanilla and topped it up with water to a cup. It turned out to be simply delicious, and we will make it again and again. I say we, because even my husband could put this together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
Think more of a crisp than an actual cake when you make this recipe. It is delicious and sooo simple to make. Great for the kids to help with! The top is crunchy and delicious, with sweet and tangy combo of tastes. Mine disappeared within hours. Thanks Aunt Kaye!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
This is a wonderfully easy desert! I wanted to do a fresh apple and pear cake, I used plain gelatin instead of a flavored one. It turned out great! I have tried the flavored jellos too, Great! Thanks so much Aunt Kaye.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2006
I made this with 1/2 c splenda 1/2 c sugar, and sugar free jello. Super easy and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2006
YUM!! We've recently moved to Maine and I was given a bunch of rubarb as a welcome gift -- I'd never even seen it before so I had no idea what to expect --- (I did add 3/4 c. raspberries & 1tsp cinn.) this was SO easy and is very yummy -- all 4 little boys LOVE it and so does DH! Thanks so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2006
I used frozen rhubarb, 1/2 cup water and increased the melted butter to 1/2 cup, and baked this for 70 minutes. Half way through baking I cut a few slits in the center so the mixture would bubble up and mix in with the cake mixture better. It turned out great. Even my 8 year old who doesn't like rhubarb ate this and liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Rhubarb Cake I

Tender and moist cake with rhubarb.

Dump Cake I

This cake is as easy as, well, dumping ingredients in a pan. So yummy!

Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins

Rhubarb, walnuts, and a sweet, crunchy topping make a magical muffin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States