Aunt Kaye's Rhubarb Dump Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2007
I've made this recipe many times. I freeze my rhubarb so I can make this year-round. I'm not very picky about measuring my rhubarb as this recipe adapts to varying amounts. I use Splenda in place of the sugar, and sugar-free raspberry jello in place of the strawberry jello. I also use white cake if I'm out of yellow cake. I serve it with whipped topping or vanilla ice cream, whichever I have on hand. Always a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2005
My husband and I both loved this cake. I made a few modifications, I added nutmeg to the rhubarb, (they go so well together) and used 1/2 cup splenda instead of white sugar and it was plenty sweet. For the water I put two heaping tbsps of orange concentrate in a 1 cup measure, with l tsp vanilla and topped it up with water to a cup. It turned out to be simply delicious, and we will make it again and again. I say we, because even my husband could put this together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2006
I used frozen rhubarb, 1/2 cup water and increased the melted butter to 1/2 cup, and baked this for 70 minutes. Half way through baking I cut a few slits in the center so the mixture would bubble up and mix in with the cake mixture better. It turned out great. Even my 8 year old who doesn't like rhubarb ate this and liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
This was really good, considering I had no idea what a dump cake is or how much rhubarb equals a pound! I used a lemon cake mix instead of a yellow cake mix and it was quite yummy, and very easy and quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2006
I made this with 1/2 c splenda 1/2 c sugar, and sugar free jello. Super easy and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
Think more of a crisp than an actual cake when you make this recipe. It is delicious and sooo simple to make. Great for the kids to help with! The top is crunchy and delicious, with sweet and tangy combo of tastes. Mine disappeared within hours. Thanks Aunt Kaye!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
I use to make a very similar recipe. The only thing different was that I also used a can of apple pie filling, it went over the rhubard then the jello and cake mix. It always turned out yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefRachel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
Added 1 1/2 cup frozen strawberries and used wild strawberry jell-o. Very tasty dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Delishuss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
Great recipe and it can be made with the 1/2 sugar cake mix and sugar free jello. Every little bit helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wind Lake, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
Awesome and easy!!! Great taste and color with so little effort! My fiancé who isn't even a rhubarb fan thoroughly enjoyed it. I used a little less sugar than the recipe asked for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Dump Cake I

This cake is as easy as, well, dumping ingredients in a pan. So yummy!

Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins

Rhubarb, walnuts, and a sweet, crunchy topping make a magical muffin.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States