Aunt Kaye's Rhubarb Dump Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2005
VERY YUMMY AND EVEN BETTER, IT WAS QUICK AND EASY TO MAKE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2005
I received this exact recipe from a friend about 4 yrs ago. My favorite jello flavor for this is cherry, but I have tried many others that were very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Atascocita, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2005
My husband and I both loved this cake. I made a few modifications, I added nutmeg to the rhubarb, (they go so well together) and used 1/2 cup splenda instead of white sugar and it was plenty sweet. For the water I put two heaping tbsps of orange concentrate in a 1 cup measure, with l tsp vanilla and topped it up with water to a cup. It turned out to be simply delicious, and we will make it again and again. I say we, because even my husband could put this together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
This is a wonderfully easy desert! I wanted to do a fresh apple and pear cake, I used plain gelatin instead of a flavored one. It turned out great! I have tried the flavored jellos too, Great! Thanks so much Aunt Kaye.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2006
I made this with 1/2 c splenda 1/2 c sugar, and sugar free jello. Super easy and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2006
Not one of the better dump cakes we've tried. Turned out more like a rhubarb crisp. Very dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Kotz Walls

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2006
YUM!! We've recently moved to Maine and I was given a bunch of rubarb as a welcome gift -- I'd never even seen it before so I had no idea what to expect --- (I did add 3/4 c. raspberries & 1tsp cinn.) this was SO easy and is very yummy -- all 4 little boys LOVE it and so does DH! Thanks so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2006
I used frozen rhubarb, 1/2 cup water and increased the melted butter to 1/2 cup, and baked this for 70 minutes. Half way through baking I cut a few slits in the center so the mixture would bubble up and mix in with the cake mixture better. It turned out great. Even my 8 year old who doesn't like rhubarb ate this and liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2007
I was ready to give this 1 or 2 stars as at the 50 minute mark in the oven there were still large pockets of dry cake mix on the surface of the baking pan. Following the advice of a reviewer, I made a few slashes and stuck it back in the oven. Ten minutes later, it still looked raw. I then took a spoon and mixed it together and back it went into the over for another 15 min. (I'm usually a from-scratch baker and had never made a "dump cake" so I didn't know what texture to expect.) (I used a lb of fresh rhubarb, finely diced, a large handful of frozen wild blueberries, and a box of strawberry cake mix, and substituted 3 packets of Splenda for the sugar and Soy Garden for the margarine.) It was delicious! Sweet, tart and tangy--liked the taste but did not care for the presentation. But we had seconds. Taste trumps I suppose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
Not a keeper--Had a cake mix flavor and poor texture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dump Cake I

This cake is as easy as, well, dumping ingredients in a pan. So yummy!

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins

Rhubarb, walnuts, and a sweet, crunchy topping make a magical muffin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States