Aunt Kaye's Rhubarb Dump Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 14, 2007
Not a keeper--Had a cake mix flavor and poor texture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2007
I was ready to give this 1 or 2 stars as at the 50 minute mark in the oven there were still large pockets of dry cake mix on the surface of the baking pan. Following the advice of a reviewer, I made a few slashes and stuck it back in the oven. Ten minutes later, it still looked raw. I then took a spoon and mixed it together and back it went into the over for another 15 min. (I'm usually a from-scratch baker and had never made a "dump cake" so I didn't know what texture to expect.) (I used a lb of fresh rhubarb, finely diced, a large handful of frozen wild blueberries, and a box of strawberry cake mix, and substituted 3 packets of Splenda for the sugar and Soy Garden for the margarine.) It was delicious! Sweet, tart and tangy--liked the taste but did not care for the presentation. But we had seconds. Taste trumps I suppose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2006
I used frozen rhubarb, 1/2 cup water and increased the melted butter to 1/2 cup, and baked this for 70 minutes. Half way through baking I cut a few slits in the center so the mixture would bubble up and mix in with the cake mixture better. It turned out great. Even my 8 year old who doesn't like rhubarb ate this and liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2006
YUM!! We've recently moved to Maine and I was given a bunch of rubarb as a welcome gift -- I'd never even seen it before so I had no idea what to expect --- (I did add 3/4 c. raspberries & 1tsp cinn.) this was SO easy and is very yummy -- all 4 little boys LOVE it and so does DH! Thanks so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2006
Not one of the better dump cakes we've tried. Turned out more like a rhubarb crisp. Very dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2006
I made this with 1/2 c splenda 1/2 c sugar, and sugar free jello. Super easy and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
This is a wonderfully easy desert! I wanted to do a fresh apple and pear cake, I used plain gelatin instead of a flavored one. It turned out great! I have tried the flavored jellos too, Great! Thanks so much Aunt Kaye.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2005
My husband and I both loved this cake. I made a few modifications, I added nutmeg to the rhubarb, (they go so well together) and used 1/2 cup splenda instead of white sugar and it was plenty sweet. For the water I put two heaping tbsps of orange concentrate in a 1 cup measure, with l tsp vanilla and topped it up with water to a cup. It turned out to be simply delicious, and we will make it again and again. I say we, because even my husband could put this together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2005
I received this exact recipe from a friend about 4 yrs ago. My favorite jello flavor for this is cherry, but I have tried many others that were very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Atascocita, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2005
VERY YUMMY AND EVEN BETTER, IT WAS QUICK AND EASY TO MAKE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Dump Cake I

This cake is as easy as, well, dumping ingredients in a pan. So yummy!

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins

Rhubarb, walnuts, and a sweet, crunchy topping make a magical muffin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States