Aunt Kaye's Rhubarb Dump Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
Great recipe and it can be made with the 1/2 sugar cake mix and sugar free jello. Every little bit helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wind Lake, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
I have made this recipe many times. When I didn't have a whole pound of rhubarb, I added strawberries once and pitted fresh cherries once (with cherry jello. I have used splenda and sugar free jello. I have used fresh pineapple with just a few table spoons of brown sugar and peach jello. It is the type of recipe that can be modified so easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
very simple and delicious, adding other berries doesn't hurt either
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by serenelooney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Denise Thompson
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
Normally I like everything. But this was kind of a dissapointment because I was expecting a cake with a pie-like bottom, like an upside-down cake. This was more of a cobbler. But the kids loved it, the flavor was nice, just wasn't what I was expecting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Thompson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Siletz, Oregon, USA
Living In: Fruitland Park, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
I use to make a very similar recipe. The only thing different was that I also used a can of apple pie filling, it went over the rhubard then the jello and cake mix. It always turned out yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefRachel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
I did not care for this. Too sweet with a powdery texture.It tastes like a box of cake mix thrown on top of strawberry-rhubarb sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
This was a fantastic recipe! Very simple to prepare...I brought it in to my 3rd graders because they had never tried rhubarb before. They loved it and begged me to make it again for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MickeyRenee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
Awesome and easy!!! Great taste and color with so little effort! My fiancé who isn't even a rhubarb fan thoroughly enjoyed it. I used a little less sugar than the recipe asked for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2007
I've made this recipe many times. I freeze my rhubarb so I can make this year-round. I'm not very picky about measuring my rhubarb as this recipe adapts to varying amounts. I use Splenda in place of the sugar, and sugar-free raspberry jello in place of the strawberry jello. I also use white cake if I'm out of yellow cake. I serve it with whipped topping or vanilla ice cream, whichever I have on hand. Always a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
Added 1 1/2 cup frozen strawberries and used wild strawberry jell-o. Very tasty dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Delishuss

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 21-30 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dump Cake I

This cake is as easy as, well, dumping ingredients in a pan. So yummy!

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins

Rhubarb, walnuts, and a sweet, crunchy topping make a magical muffin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States