Aunt Kate's Strawberry Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by KMQcook
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2015
Perfect! I made it a layer cake with a layer of icing in between as well as on the top. My family loved it! Big hit! The strawberries make the icing a natural pink. No food coloring needed! But I did add food coloring to the batter to give it more of a pink color. About 8 drops of red should do it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
Almost stayed true to the ingredients but I used butter (lightly melted). I prepped it way differently than what was directed only because I wanted to bake for 3 so I used 3 ramekins. I decided to use my small food processor starting with chopped strawberries with sugar and pulsed it 4-5 times, following butter, vanilla, eggs, pulsed then added the rest until combined. Baked it for 20 minutes or less. It came out cakey and not densed like others mentioned. Definitely better than the jello powder mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
Good recipe. I added 1/4 tsp baking powder and used cake flour instead of all purpose to try and lighten up the cake. It still turned out pretty dense but it wasn't super dense like some other butter-based cakes I've made (and I used butter instead of shortening). For the frosting I let the mashed berries sit in a strainer while I baked the cake to remove most of the liquid. This really helped improve the texture of the frosting. Not runny at all. Overall it turned out great. My 3-year-old loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
Way too heavy for my liking, but tasted good. Fantastic frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by martuck58

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
Very quick to make. And tastes delicious :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
Dry and dense, even with 1tsp b powder - we did not care for the cake portion at all. The frosting is nice and once added to the cupcakes, made them edible, but I would definitely not make this cake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
This recipe as written was just ok to me. The flavor was decent, but it was too dense for my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
I didn't add anything to the recipe, because all the complaints were that it was too dense and that didn't bother me. It is very bread-like, but the flavor was quite good. Not super strong flavors, which to me is a positive since you can add frosting without making it too sweet. The one thing about the cake itself is that it has a bit of a weird color. You might be able to add food coloring to help, but I haven't tried so no idea. The frosting was ok, but not great. As a filling, I used the extra mashed strawberries I had and cooked them with some cornstarch. I felt like this gave a more strawberry flavor to the overall cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fyrlys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kunming, Yunnan Province, China
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
didn't like, to thick, icing was to runny..can't see making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
Thank you for the delicious recipe! I was going to add baking powder as other reviewers suggested, then found that I didn't have any left. It came out perfect as is, though. I did let the strawberries and baking soda sit for a couple of minutes to allow the reaction to start... maybe the other reviewers who had a heavy cake forgot this step?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States