Aunt Kate's Green Beans in Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
This is a great way to use green beans straight out of the garden! I made a few changes- instead of diced tomatoes I used a pint of crushed tomatoes and 5 fresh minced basil leaves. I added 1/4 cup chicken broth, 1/2 tsp cinnamon (my husband loves cinnamon in anything with a lot of tomatoes), and about a tablespoon of fresh-squeezed orange juice when I added the green beans. Everyone (picky children included) loved it! Thanks for a great, versatile recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2003
We thought this was pretty darn good. I used canned crushed tomatoes with roasted garlic and took it up a level by adding cabbage and cannellini beans. If I hadn't already had a meatloaf in the oven, I would have served this over pasta. Thanks BarbiAnn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2002
Fast and easy, great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2005
Very good! I did throw the green beans in a few minutes (not 45 minutes later) after I added the tomatoes to the garlic/oil. They were delicious. I cooked the whole thing for about 45 minutes. Will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
We love this recipe! It has gone over very well with company too. I also tried it with zucchin and it was equally good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2005
Yea Aunt Kate! We loved your green beans in tomatoes! I (like other reviewers) used canned green beans. I only used one can because I wasn't sure if my kids would eat it and I didn't want to waste perfectly good green beans. When they saw it in the pan they asked "whats the red stuff?". I told them it was like green beans in spaghetti sauce...they loved it! My 3 year old ate it and ate it and ate it. Thank you for an easy and delicious side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOVETOCOOK10

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aberdeen, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
I don't think this one will be a fan with little kida, but as groovigryl said, her kid liked it, so I still don't know. I guess some kids like green beans, but not many...!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Culinary Gal 12

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
This recipe was very good. My roomate said her mother makes this all the time and mine was even better! I added 1 tbsp of parsley flakes and a bit more basil. All I had was a 28 oz can of tomatoes. I added 1/2 cup water and let it cook down until it was less than half. Next time I will use a regular 14 oz can, because it did turn out very tomatoey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea  Alexander

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redlands, California, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2003
Very tasty ... the tomato sauce livens up the green beans, flavor-wise, and produces a really nice texture overall. My 13-y.o. asked for seconds ... that's the real test!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Niroszyckame
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
I really enjoyed these, instead of using canned tomatoes, I used fresh diced roma tomatoes and then tomato paste and water in place of the tomato sauce. I also threw in some cauliflower, very yummy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niroszyckame

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Slave Lake, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States