Aunt Kate's Green Beans in Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
I think the dish tasted rather bland. We ate it, but I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
This was really salty. I love green beans, but I really didn't care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albion, Illinois, USA
Living In: Grayslake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
This is a great way to use green beans straight out of the garden! I made a few changes- instead of diced tomatoes I used a pint of crushed tomatoes and 5 fresh minced basil leaves. I added 1/4 cup chicken broth, 1/2 tsp cinnamon (my husband loves cinnamon in anything with a lot of tomatoes), and about a tablespoon of fresh-squeezed orange juice when I added the green beans. Everyone (picky children included) loved it! Thanks for a great, versatile recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2006
This rating is actually from my hubby, he raves about it every time I make it (I'm just not a fan of tomato sauce). I use frozen beans b/c fresh ones are hard to find here and microwave them until just defrosted before adding them in the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2006
Very good stuff. Zesty, Tasty and Easy The only thing that I might do differently would be to steam the green beans until they are about half way done as it takes a long time to get the green beans to a softer consistency. Very good stuff!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
This was fantastic! My first time ever eating green beans "in" something! I'm not much into leftovers and I'm not too creative with food, but I had a lot of this left over. I turned it into soup the next day! I heated it up an hour or so before dinner. I added a can of chicken broth and some pre-cut chicken strips, s & p, and my husband (who is a chef) thought it was great. Reminded him of minestrone with out all the veggies. I highly recommend this to all!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
I liked it quite a bit and I had forgotten garlic. My husband found it too tomatoey though. Pretty Good overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2006
I wasn't impressed by this nor were the men in the house. Bland. I tried onions and zucchini in place of beans and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2006
Nice change to same-old green beans, very tasty. My three year old said he didn't like them, but then gobbled them up when we weren't looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
This recipe was different. But, I went ahead and tried it because I wanted to do something different with green beans than usual. It was ok. The sauce was too thick for me, but I think i will try it again and use a bit more water as someone else suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States