Aunt Kate's Green Beans in Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Yep, it tasted like beans in spaghetti sauce. I don't know why I thought it wouldn't but it did and we don't like it that way. Back to green bean casseroles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hebron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
Very tasty side dish. I used 5 fresh garden tomatoes instead of the canned, some fresh basil and about 1 tsp of oregano. Turned out wonderful!! Thank you for posting a great way to use fresh green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misty

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
This was a great way to eat green beans. The sauce was delicious and they went great with egg noodles (with butter, cheese and garlic salt on them).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
This was an easy dish for a buffet style meal. Next time I'm trying fresh tomato and basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
I can't believe someone said it was too salty, more so since the recipe said salt to taste. Maybe they don’t know what salt to taste means, insert crazy face here. At any rate my only recommendations would be replace is, replace the vegetable with olive oil, and 1 tablespoon of oil with 1 tablespoon of butter to fry the garlic. Other than that it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KingSparta

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marmora, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
For some reason I was thinking this would be more like a country vegetable, but it reminded me a little of Italian style green beans. It was similar in taste to the Italian style green beans in a can. I didn't have the oregano and basil canned diced tomatoes, so I just added a pinch of both seasonings to regular canned diced tomatoes. However, what surprised me about the recipe is, after the green beans are added, they have to simmer for well over an hour! The recipe does not indicate how long it typically takes for fresh green beans to soften. I was not aware of that. That is also on top of the 30-45 minutes to simmer the sauce first. That is a lot of time for a side dish that serves 4. I think it would have been better to just use frozen defrosted green beans. I don't think that would have affected the taste, but it maybe would have cut the cooking time in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by Niroszyckame
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
I really enjoyed these, instead of using canned tomatoes, I used fresh diced roma tomatoes and then tomato paste and water in place of the tomato sauce. I also threw in some cauliflower, very yummy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niroszyckame

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Slave Lake, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
My boys are not the biggest fan of green beans, but I made these tonight, called them "spaghetti green beans" and they were a huge hit! Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jess.church

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Haubstadt, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
VERY DELICIOUS AND EASY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
Very tasty way to change up the good ol' green bean! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States