Aunt Joyce's Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Very moist. But if it wasn't brown, I wouldn't know it was supposed to be chocolate and the flavor was just weird.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
My favorite cake, by far! Batter is runny, but never fear, this cake will turn out amazingly well...have faith in the recipe. :) I use cocoa powder and oil instead of chocolate squares and have always, always had wonderful results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
Sorry, the chocolate cake was lacking the rich chocolate taste. In fact, it tasted almost rubbery. I'm not too sure what went wrong. But I won't be trying this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hougang, North-East Region, Singapore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
Wow!!! Best chocolate cake I have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
It didn't cook in the middle even after an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
Always amazing! No more chocolate cake mix for this house. My picky step daughter wants this made for her birthday, and we all can't wait to eat it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany Millin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
Easy to make and very moist, but not enough chocolate flavor for me. Everyone ate it, but nobody raved. I could taste the tang of mayo in it and found that slightly off-putting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
I call this the OMG!-Chocolate cake! What some people may be calling "gummy", I call Fudgie! this cake is so moist, and rich, it needs no icing. Seriously! It is like having a mouthful of cake, fudge, and icing all at once. A very serious keeper! The only thing I would recommend is waiting for it to cool about 15 minutes in pan, and then completely cool before cutting to allow the cake to kind of settle into itself a little, or it may initially be a bit crumbly, but who cares, the crumbs were even moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mona

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
I honestly thought at first this cake was awful but then...oh wow it is dense not fluffy, and the more it sits, it just keeps getting better..used a bit more chocolate chips and one cup of coffee in place of one of the cups of water, then just sprinkled it with chocolate chips after baked...oh served it with chocolate wine swirled on the plate simply perfect,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
The cake did not rise, and tasted odd. I don't think I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gainesville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States