Aunt Joyce's Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 8, 2002
At first I thought it was going to be a dud cake, as the batter tasted really weird. But I baked it anyway, and it was 5 stars! It was tested by 3 adults and 7 kids, all of them said "2 thumbs up!" and the 10 year old said "you should go make this cake at a cake making place and be the manager cause this cake is sooo good!". This is a great, chocolatly, thick and creamy cake! YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2004
Don't let the mayonaise deter you.... this is the most delicious cake I have ever tasted. I use sweetened chocolate instead of unsweetened but other than that, I change nothing. The last time I made it, I topped it with "whipped cream cheese frosting" and it was talked about for days. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
I have been looking for a true Southern red velvet cake recipie since I lost mine in a move 4 years ago. The only thing missing from this recipie is the red food coloing. Rich, moist, and PERFECT! Thank you for sharing this great recipie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sioux City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kelly Young
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
This cake was the most moist cake I have ever made. I made it in two 8 in pans and put a candy bar icing in the middle and chocolate glaze over the top... Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Columbus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2001
was looking forward to having a great chocolate cake. Was easy to make..... looked good when it came out of the oven (although I had to keep it in for an extra 10 minutes) but ended up tasting gummy! Not sure what I did wrong
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2001
Very good cake, easy, quick, but really moist and delicious. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
I made this cake for Mother's day for my mother-in-law. She and the rest of the family loved it. I have one piece left one day later. I topped it with a chocolate glaze. It was super easy to make, the batter was extremely runny, but baked perfectly. I used a bundt pan and cooked it about 50 minutes. This chocolate cake tasted and looked just like a chocolate cake. Very pleased with this recipe and have already recommended it to friends. Super easy to make and delicious too!!! here it is over a year later and I am still making this cake, I just made it twice in the past week. I used the Hershey's recipe for their perfectly chocolate chocolate icing on top, my best friend told me it was divine! It never lasts in this house or when I take it somewhere. Its a keeper! To those who say the cake is gummy with a weird texture , I have made it enough times to know it doesn't always turn out right. I have found that if I over mix the mayo chocolate mixture the cake doesn't rise right and is gummy. To avoid this use room temp mayo and mix chocolate, mayo, vinegar and extract til creamy. If it looks shiny and curdled the cake will be gummy. HTH :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2003
I made this cake for my Granddaughter's birthday. It is easy to make with ingredients most have available. It was fantastic for such different ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2001
I was looking for something chocolate, easy, and ingredients that I had on hand. This cake is moist and great with or without frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
Definitely a keeper!!! I just made this recipe and I fear I may have 1/2 the cake eaten by days end. :) I never have bakers chocolate on hand, so I used 9 tablespoons of cocoa powder and 3 tablespoons (grape seed but any oil will work) oil instead (the recipe on the back of hershey's cocoa) This is the perfect recipe, especially when you don't have any eggs in the fridge!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States