Aunt Joyce's Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by ashathechef
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
I always make this recipe and this time I halved it. Turned out perfect. Just needed more time to bake in a loaf pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashathechef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Comerio P.R.
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
PERFECT. I WILL PUT A LITTLE BIT MORE SUGAR, LIKE 1/2 A CUP.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Comerio P.R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glen Spey, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
This was AWESOME!!! I was unsure of this recipe because of the mayo but I tried it and LOVED it. This will be my chocolate cake recipe. I followed the recipe exactly. I took it to work today and everyone raved about how moist it was. Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hhazelwood07

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
I have been looking for chocolate cake recipe for a 13 x 9 inch pan and this is deliciously moist with a great chocolate taste. I did use the cocoa powder and butter alternative for the chocolate squares. This cake rose well and did not sink after coming out of the oven like other chocolate cake recipes I have made in the past.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Presque Isle, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
I had never tried a cake recipe with mayonaise but this may have been the best cake I've made! I used rich dark chocolate and it was the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
Awesome! Moist! Chocolatey! Made it according to the recipe. Don't worry that the batter is liquidy. It turns out great. Rave reviews at work. I combined it with Seven Minute Frosting I by Karen Davenport and people couldn't keep their hands off it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
I have tried four or five different chocolate cake recipies in the last two years and this is probably the best. It is full of chocolate flavor, and is it ever moist! In a 9x13 pan, it rocks...and is even better the next day...if it lasts that long...oh, and you've got to use Tracy Larsen's "Creamy Chocolate Icing" with this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
I was very optimistic about making this cake given so many previous 5 star ratings, but was disappointed with the final product. The cake texture and moisture was great, it just had no flavor. I used high quality choc squares, but still no luck. The only saving grace for this cake was the peanut butter frosting I put on it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
Definitely a keeper!!! I just made this recipe and I fear I may have 1/2 the cake eaten by days end. :) I never have bakers chocolate on hand, so I used 9 tablespoons of cocoa powder and 3 tablespoons (grape seed but any oil will work) oil instead (the recipe on the back of hershey's cocoa) This is the perfect recipe, especially when you don't have any eggs in the fridge!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
i DOUBLED THE AMOUNT OF CHOCOLATE AND STILL WASNT CHOCOLATY . IT TURNED OUT YELLOW. THE WORST BIT WAS THAT IT WAS BURNT AT THE OUTSIDE BUT TOTALY RAW ON THE INSIDE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States