Aunt Joyce's Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
REALLY GOOD! Super moist cake!!!! Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Far

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
followed the recipe to the tee, the only thing different was i made cupcakes and cooked for 24 mins. they are great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
This cake was great! I did use 1 cup of coffee in place of one of the cups of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Excellent chocolate cake! Very moist with good chocolate flavor and not overly sweet. The batter seems very thin when pouring it into the pan, but it's always come out fine. This has become my go to recipe for chocolate cake. I did try the recipe once with cake flour instead of all purpose flour and the texture was wrong; so I will stick to all purpose going forward.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ryan Creasia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
A very moist and tasty cake. I halved the recipe and it still worked perfectly. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
I've made a fair number of chocolate cakes in my time but this is now my "GO-TO" choc. cake. This is what Grammy made....this is what little kids dream of...this is what you make when you're DYING for a piece of choc. cake and you positively KNOW that nothing at the store or in a box is going to be worthy of your desire. This is also what you make when you don't have any eggs or oil in the house!! Because I have two friends who are gluten intolerant, I used this as a base and revamped it. THANK YOU AUNT JOYCE. Because it's different enough, if I can figure out how to get it on here, I'll enter it as Auntie Nee's APPLE Gluten free chocolate cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Couldn't stop eating this cake! It was amazing without any frosting and was sooo moist and dense. I actually suggest handmixing the chocolate and the flour mixtures and then using an electric mixer to incorporate the hot water because the consistancy won't be so fudgy, but either way the flavor was outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sophia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
I made this twice - once following the recipe and once changing the recipe to make it healthier. The recipe itself is fantastic - rich and moist. To make it healthier, I used whole wheat pastry flour instead of white flour, Erythritol (a sugar alternative found in most health food stores under various brand names- no nasty aftertaste like Splenda) instead of sugar, and reduced fat olive oil mayo instead of the regular kind. The results were also fabulous. The texture was a bit coarser due to the whole grain, but it was still moist and chocolatey - and 200 calories a serving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Overall Rating: (Taste, texture, consistency and appearance) = Poor Fortunately, I had the time to try this recipe before serving it to anyone. It takes twice as long as the submitter said to bake, it has unsavory gummy texture and taste and barely had any chocolate favour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Hands down the best chocolate cake recipe I've ever used. I've found that it needs a good 10-15 minutes more of bake time than the recipe states and since my husband loves it extra chocolatey I use milk chocolate squares instead of the unsweetened ones and often double the amount of chocolate. Absolutely amazing with a cream cheese frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States