Aunt Joyce's Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
Wow!!! Best chocolate cake I have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
It didn't cook in the middle even after an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
Always amazing! No more chocolate cake mix for this house. My picky step daughter wants this made for her birthday, and we all can't wait to eat it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
Easy to make and very moist, but not enough chocolate flavor for me. Everyone ate it, but nobody raved. I could taste the tang of mayo in it and found that slightly off-putting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
I call this the OMG!-Chocolate cake! What some people may be calling "gummy", I call Fudgie! this cake is so moist, and rich, it needs no icing. Seriously! It is like having a mouthful of cake, fudge, and icing all at once. A very serious keeper! The only thing I would recommend is waiting for it to cool about 15 minutes in pan, and then completely cool before cutting to allow the cake to kind of settle into itself a little, or it may initially be a bit crumbly, but who cares, the crumbs were even moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
I honestly thought at first this cake was awful but then...oh wow it is dense not fluffy, and the more it sits, it just keeps getting better..used a bit more chocolate chips and one cup of coffee in place of one of the cups of water, then just sprinkled it with chocolate chips after baked...oh served it with chocolate wine swirled on the plate simply perfect,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
The cake did not rise, and tasted odd. I don't think I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gainesville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
OMG!! beatiful. I love a really moist cake and this is by far the most moist recipe Ive tried.. the boyfriend thought it was a bit too moist but still gobbled it up
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2013
Sorry, but I made it exactly according to directions, only exception being I cooked it in a Bundt pan. The entire outer layer stuck to the pan (which had been well greased.) So, I couldn't serve it at my daughter's birthday party, but I could taste the cake. Hardly any chocolate flavor at all, too salty, and an aftertaste of baking soda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
When I was in grade school, (many, MANY years ago) my best friend used to bring chocolate cake in her lunch and I would beg her for some of it. It was THE best chocolate cake I had ever had. I have spent the last 40 (or more) years looking for a recipe that came close to that cake. I think this recipe is it. The texture is perfect. It isn't soft like a mix cake, it's dense, and moist and fabulous. Alternately add the flour and water to the chocolate mixture and mix gently with a spoon or spatula...no need for whisks or power mixers. You simply must try this cake. It goes together quickly and is really, REALLY good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States