Aunt Joyce's Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
well i wanted to try something different for my bfs birthday, i tried it twice. the first time it just had a funny taste not bad but strange. so i tried again with more chocolate and sugar, still wasent pleased, even had a weird texture. dont know what i did wrong =/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess<3
Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
Mind you that I was on a diet for three months before I tried this recipe, so that might have influenced my star rating. I thought this cake was fantastic! So much so, that I saved a little batter for myself after I put the rest into the cake pans. Very moist and rich. It is dense but that is a plus. A side note however, when making cupcakes with this recipe would want to lessen the baking time to keep the dense moisture. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Georgetown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Eagle Point, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
This is the BEST chocolate cake I've ever made! Very moist. I followed the recipe to the letter with one exception- I had no baking chocolate so I substituted 9 Tbsp. of cocoa mixed with 3 Tbsp. canola oil. I also could not taste the mayonnaise! I'll make this one again and again. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1gdcowgrl gone
Home Town: Marlow, Oklahoma, USA
Photo by Kelly Young
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
This cake was the most moist cake I have ever made. I made it in two 8 in pans and put a candy bar icing in the middle and chocolate glaze over the top... Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Columbus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
I didn't have unsweetened chocolate to melt, so I used the 3-1 ratio with cocoa powder and butter. Everything else I kept the same. I had to add another 1/2 c. of flour and another 1/4 c. of cocoa powder because the batter was SO wet. This recipe reminds me a lot of the chocolate cake recipe on the Best Foods mayo jar. This did turn out really moist and chocolate-y, even more so with the Mocha Frosting I used from this site to frost it with. Not too hard to make and took just a little more time as it would have making a boxed cake but with a less processed flavor. I doubt I'd make it again, only because it's so similar to the Best Foods mayo cake. I'd like to try something different, a little more unusual. EDITED TO ADD: So, with the extra addition of more cocoa powder, the chocolate flavor of this cake was phenom. With the mocha icing on top, this cake was my best PMS chocolate craving killer EVER. I ate two pieces and was in chocolate/coffee heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
Awesome I will never make a cake any other way. It only lasted two days in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
The cake was very moist, but flavor was barely okay. The texture was awesome, denser than most cakes, just how I love it. However it was not very chocolatey, so would probably not make again following this recipe. It was thin, a little cracked on top. If i made it again I would probably just add 3 ounces of sweetened chocolate and add it while melting the unsweetened chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
the mayonase was horrible! ruined the chocolate cake (and i like every chocolate cake i've tasted)3*** because my fionce liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
I made this cake with Miracle Whip instead of mayonnaise, which worked OK. The moist, chewy texture is very nice but I have to agree with the reviewer who said it's not very chocolaty (using cocoa, not squares). I think it would be nicer with frosting, but it's a bit bland when left plain. Still, the texture is fantastic. Next time I will try twice as much chocolate and a little more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DANGEROUSPENGUIN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
I made this cake for Mother's day for my mother-in-law. She and the rest of the family loved it. I have one piece left one day later. I topped it with a chocolate glaze. It was super easy to make, the batter was extremely runny, but baked perfectly. I used a bundt pan and cooked it about 50 minutes. This chocolate cake tasted and looked just like a chocolate cake. Very pleased with this recipe and have already recommended it to friends. Super easy to make and delicious too!!! here it is over a year later and I am still making this cake, I just made it twice in the past week. I used the Hershey's recipe for their perfectly chocolate chocolate icing on top, my best friend told me it was divine! It never lasts in this house or when I take it somewhere. Its a keeper! To those who say the cake is gummy with a weird texture , I have made it enough times to know it doesn't always turn out right. I have found that if I over mix the mayo chocolate mixture the cake doesn't rise right and is gummy. To avoid this use room temp mayo and mix chocolate, mayo, vinegar and extract til creamy. If it looks shiny and curdled the cake will be gummy. HTH :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States