Aunt Joyce's Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
I made this cake for my Mother for her 74th Birthday everyone Loved it. Moist! Very Moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
Sorry Aunt Joyce. Really disliked this cake. I made it exactly as written. Strange flavor, gummy (I didn't bake it quite long enough - it needed more than 35 minutes - my fault, but even on the edges where it was cooked thoroughly, it still wasn't very enjoyable). The one thing I will say - I turned it into a "Hello Kitty" cake for a birthday party, and the texture was perfect for that! Cutting out the cat shape was easy, and it came out of the pan nicely. I just wish we enjoyed the flavor and texture more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
No more box cake in this house. Yes, the ingredients are different but it came out so moist and has a wonderful chocolate flavor. I followed this recipe to a "T" and topped it with Mom's Buttercream Frosting by Adora Marchi from this site. Its a very fluffy frosting but not sweet, a wonderful compliment for such a great tasting cake. Thank you Karen for an awesome cake !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
I was looking for a moist dense chocolate cake and I found it in this one. This was so good I didn't even frost it. I only had semi-sweet chocolate squares so that is what I used. Didn't cut back on the sugar either but was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottumwa, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
This cake went quickly, very moist, could have more chocolate flavor, but definitely made a hit in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
This is a fantastic recipe. The cake is one of the moistest cakes I've ever made and is really simple to make. We live in NJ (sea level) and it took about 55 minutes for the cake to bake, not the 30-35 minutes recommended in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Mullica Hill, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
What's not to like? Uber moist; easy to make. Excellent flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
Do not let the mayonnaise scare you away!! My mom made mayonnaise cakes for years and one day I couldnt find the recipe but I found this one. This is the one I make all the time now! I NEVER tell people what it is until they try it and when I do tell them, they are amazed that it is made with mayo. Something about the mayo that makes a dense, moist yummy cake! I followed the recipe exact except I had to cook mine a little bit longer and it came out perfect. I brought it into work and got rave reviews over it. Try it, you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ashley
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
WOW... this was incredible!!! I really had my doubts as I added water, no eggs and my batter came out so loose. But this cake was by far the best chocolate cake. I actually do not care for cake, but I found myself wanting more. I paired this up with a chocolate mousse and chocolate ganache, and finished it off with some chocolate shavings, delishhhh... My grandfather who's been a chef for years couldnt get over this cake.. def a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cos Cob, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
well i wanted to try something different for my bfs birthday, i tried it twice. the first time it just had a funny taste not bad but strange. so i tried again with more chocolate and sugar, still wasent pleased, even had a weird texture. dont know what i did wrong =/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess<3
Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States