Aunt Joyce's Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
Made this per directions the other night and it was wonderful and thick and fudgy. You do need to bake it about 15 minutes longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
I made this cake for my daughters birthday last year and at her request, again this year. It's dense and moist and very chocolaty. I used a chocolate ganache recipe to top it off, talk about rich! Perfect remedy for any chocolate craving, thanks you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
Nice, moist, chocolaty flavor. I made this for the 4th of July and took it to work. Kind of tough to use as a cake to decorate with because of the texture but the results are really good. Everybody loved it! The batter looks really runny before you put it in the pan but it bakes up great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newfield, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by momof3
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
I made this for the cake walk at my son's school carnival and was pleased with the results. It has a great flavor and is very moist. I frosted it with Chocolate Frosting 1 from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momof3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
Don't use light mayonnaise! Even with full-fat mayo, I think this recipe would have still been wierd. It had a really gummy texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
This cake did taste good, but it was a little odd. It was sort of chewy and had pockets in it that reminded me of a sponge. I'm not sure if I did something wrong, but I probably wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShellyW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
Moist and yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
I made the cake as written. It did take about 55 minutes of baking, but was worth the wait. My 3 year old with a mouth full of cake said "oh its so good." Turned out great! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
Well, I am one of those unfortunate ones that was not pleased with this. It had a good flavor and it was moist, but I just couldn't get past the weird texture. Hard to describe. I followed the recipe to a T and I definitely won't waste my mayo on this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
Word of advice: try to make the recipe once first before planning on bringing it to an important event so you know what to expect (and decide if this is really the recipe you want to go with...). I was in charge of dessert for my friend's Easter dinner, and this cake didn't quite turn out like I expected. It tasted GOOD. But it wasn't cakey (very moist, like a cross between custard and cake?!). I found out that the texture had improved after a day of sitting on the counter (yes, there were left-overs...), so you might think of making it one day ahead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States