Aunt Joyce's Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
I hate giving a recipe a low rating. The texure was grainy and it wasn't as chocolaty at I anticipated. That's not the worst part. After I had thoroughly cooled it and took it out of the pan. The middle stuck to the bottom of the pna. I needed another choc cake in a curry so I bought a mix and nothing stuck (The first time I sprayed and dusted the cake pand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
I made this for my husbands birthday and it was fantastic! Instead of the baking squares I used 9 tablespoons of unsweetened cocoa and 3 tablespoons canola oil and instead of sugar I used 2 1/2 cups of powdered sugar. I also put a butter cream frosting on and it was a hit! He ate almost the whole thing by himself straight from the pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
Delicious!!! Perfectly moist. I've tried a few chocolate cake recipes using mayonnaise, and this one is a keeper. I found that I had to add half the flour mixture, then half the water, then repeat the process, as the batter is otherwise quite stiff if you wait to add the water last. I used a glass baking pan, so I lowered the temperature to 325F, and it took about 40 minutes to bake, and came out perfect! Everyone in the family loved it! A definite recommend!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
There was an odd flavor that was off-putting, possibly from the vinegar? The texture was nice but not as moist as the submitter claimed, and the flavor improved a bit after the cake sat out on the kitchen counter for a day or so, but not enough to save it. My 8yo sugar-fiend who's never met a sweet she didn't like took one bite and pushed it away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blancheskid

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hawthorne, California, USA
Living In: Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
Oh my word this cake was sooo good. I made it for my husbands birthday yesterday and everyone loved it!! My soon to be 15 yr old son asked for this cake for his birthday. I made a homemade chocolate frosting for the top and it was AWESOME!!! thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
Recipe is just okay and not exceptionally good. To prevent lumps and overbeating due to efforts to take out the lumps --- it would be better to mix the flour alternately with the warm water, intead of adding the entire liquid after adding the entire flour. I still prefer my traditional recipe in terms of taste, flavor and consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
I made this tonight for the first time while getting dubious looks for using mayo and vinegar, but the skeptics were silenced and we all LOVE this cake! It's definitely the perfect chocolateyness, not sickeningly so like most chocolate cakes are. the only alteration i made was to use 3 tbsp of cocoa powder and 1 tbsp of vegetable oil in place of the unsweetened chocolate squares; after i thoroughly mixed the two i nuked it for about 1 1/2 minutes and it blended beautifully with the other ingredients. this is such a great recipe, i will be whipping this one out whenever i want to impress!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
Made this per directions the other night and it was wonderful and thick and fudgy. You do need to bake it about 15 minutes longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
I made this cake for my daughters birthday last year and at her request, again this year. It's dense and moist and very chocolaty. I used a chocolate ganache recipe to top it off, talk about rich! Perfect remedy for any chocolate craving, thanks you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
Nice, moist, chocolaty flavor. I made this for the 4th of July and took it to work. Kind of tough to use as a cake to decorate with because of the texture but the results are really good. Everybody loved it! The batter looks really runny before you put it in the pan but it bakes up great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newfield, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States