Aunt Johnnie's Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2003
Delicate and delightful! I don't keep cake flour in the house, but on the back of my cornstarch box, it gives directions how to make your own cake flour: For 1 cup cake flour, combine 3/4 cup plus 2 Tbs all purpose flour with 2 Tbs corn starch. Sift together and use in any recipe calling for cake flour. I used this substituion in the recipe and it worked wonderfully. For light texture, remember to cream shortening, butter and sugar, then add eggs one at a time, this process took me at least 5 minutes of mixing with the electric mixer but was well worth it! A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
208 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2004
Great recipe - only change I made was using part vanilla and part almond. Mine had the dense pound cake quality. I noticed some people had trouble keeping the cake dense and with it overflowing. Remember, a pound cake is a very old style cake - long before electric mixers. The recipe states to stir in the flour and milk, so when using a mixer it must be slow and not for too long. Mixing it fast and for a long time will put too much air in the batter causing it to fluff up and loose the dense pound cake quality and rise too big.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
149 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2006
I am a Pastry Chef and I am always looking for wonderful recipes. This recipe is great, although I did add some things. Instead of the almond extract(two tsp. seemed like too much to me) I added two TBS. of almond oil, 1/2 tsp. lemon extract and 1 tsp. of vanilla extract. Instead of just regular shortening, I used butter flavor shortening. I creamed the butter, shortening and sugar for 20 minutes which gives the cake a fluffy texture. All of these changes made it great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
It's two days after Christmas and all through the house, not a creature is stirring...except for Hubs and me. With all our "holiday people" gone I'm left with an empty house and a full refrigerator and pantry, including lots of leftover eggnog. I decided to use some of it in a cake and after looking over this recipe decided it was a good, basic pound cake recipe that I could safely experiment with a little. Given that I replaced the milk with the sweet eggnog, I knew I'd have to reduce the sugar, but didn't want to reduce it so much that I'd be reducing some of the moisture in the cake as well. I settled at 2 cups. In keeping with the eggnog flavor I substituted 1-1/2 tsp. vanilla and 1/2 tsp. rum extract for the almond extract, and added 1/8 tsp. nutmeg to the flour mixture. I wasn't crazy about baking this at 300 degrees, but since I had a dark pan I felt it would be okay. An hour and 15 minutes later the cake was done. This really is a lovely, beautiful cake, moist, with a fine, tender and dense crumb. Pound cake just as pound cake should be. As for my eggnog experiment, it was a real happy result! Pleasantly eggnog flavored, light "mellow yellow" and a perfect choice for this holiday season. This was just excellent on its own, but I served it with a fresh, tropical fruit medley and fresh whipped cream (more leftovers!). Make this recipe as is or make my eggnog cake experiment, but either way I highly recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
This makes a very moist and excellent textured pound cake, but I agree with other reviewers - substitue vanilla for the almond extract. The moistness is due to the 1/2 cup of shortening, but I would have liked a more buttery flavor - just my own personl preference. It did turn out absolutely perfect though. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Mary, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2004
this is the best cake recipe on this site.. I cut down the sugar to 2 1/4 cups.. I had no cake flour on hand today, so I removed 2T flour per cup, and double sifted the flour... I used only vanilla ex, I don't like almond.. and the result was a moist, delishous, creamy, melt in your mouth cake... I will use this recipe from now on as my signature cake... this is great for weddings and birthdays, it's to to good 100 stars!!!! my husband refuses to eat store bought pound cake ever again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2002
Since my mother passed away last year, I was afraid that I would never get the chance to learn how to make my own pound cake. I made this cake today and it turn out just as if mom had done it herself. Thanks so much! I changed the recipe as suggested by others and used 1/2 vanilla and 1/2 almond as well as cream cheese instead of shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2002
This cake was very heavy and dense - not as I was expecting, but had a wonderful flavor! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
I'm giving this five stars because it filled up my Bundt pan nicely and the texture was A+, but I strongly recommend cutting the almond extract in half, adding 1-2 teaspoons vanilla extract and also adding 1/2 to 1 tsp. salt. The sweetness definitely needs to be tempered with the addition of some salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sidney, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Galena, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2002
This was the best pound cake recipe I've found. Often pound cakes can come out on the dry side, but this was super moist. I made it for my some folks at my husband's work, and the container came back empty. I followed the suggestion in the reviews to use half almond flavoring and half vanilla -- good idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 330) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Kitty Litter Cake

A perfect cake for April Fools' Day or Halloween.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States