Aunt Johnnie's Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2007
I followed the recipe exactly, except I used vanilla extract for flavor. My husband and kids were crazy about it! I am making it again today but will try lemon extract at their request. I am wondering if those who had a hard time with the batter spilling over didn't use cake flour? That could have been the problem. Thanks for sharing this recipe ---it's a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
This recipe was quite easy to make. Cake turned out moist. I served this with fresh strawberries and whipped cream for dessert. The almond flavour and strawberries went together very well. The second time I made this cake, I added lemon juice and grated rind instead of the almond extract just for a different flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
I didn't have shortening, so used butter instead. Threw in 100gram of pounded almonds too. It didn't turn out as soft and moist as what has been described by many. I think mine was rather dry, could be the addition of the almonds. I didn't use 2 tsp of almond essence either. Used 1 tsp of that and 1 tsp of vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
EVERYBODY LOVED IT I GAVE 3 OF THESE CAKES TO FRIENDS AND IT WAS SUPER I JUST ADDED A LITTLE MORE OF BUTTER AND IT WAS DELICIOUS......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALEJANDRA CASTILLO

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Tegucigalpa, Francisco Morazán, Honduras

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
This is by far the best pound cake I've ever had. I have always made it in a large pound cake pan (tall, straight sides)...NOT a bundt pan. Also, I do not like almond flavoring, so I use a combination of butter flavoring and vanilla extract. By following the rest of the directions exactly, I've never had this cake fail me, and I've made it probably two dozen times, and folks who eat it have asked me if I bake professionally when they try it. The secret is the flavoring and the cake flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2007
absolutely a hit !!! replaced shortcake for pound cake.. and no one will ever go back!! only change i made .. was to substitue vanilla for the almond extract
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2007
I love this recipe. The almond flavor is a nice change from ordinary pound cake and it is so moist. I do agree - it is wonderful with fresh strawberries and whipped cream. It's a good strawberry shortcake as opposed to those dry shortcake cups they sell at the grocery store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
I used a 10 inch bundt pan just like the recipe said to and my cake spilled over. It has been cooking for 2 hours and it is still not done. I am afraid I am having the same problem as others. I hope the cake tastes good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
This cake was a disappointment. I followed the recipe and reviewers' hints to a T only to have the cake overflow the pan and come out in crumbles. Taste was overpowering almond extract. Next time I will try for a traditional pound cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISWILLI

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
Very good, old-fashioned pound cake flavor and texture. 2 tablespoon almond extract was way too overpowering, so I did 1.5 tablespoon vanilla, .5 tablespoon almond. This was a moist cake, but not SUPER moist like the Cream Cheese Pound Cake I & II from this site. If you want a definite no fail pound cake, use the recipes just mentioned. As for this recipe, I used ALL butter and all the ingredients should be ROOM TEMP. I've also substituted buttermilk for the milk and it was even better. Make sure you whip the butter and sugar om med. speed for at least 10-15 min. until light and fluffy. Makes all the difference. Follow the directions to a T, down to adding one egg at a time, and you'll end up with a winner. Have made this twice, but will go back to the Cream Cheese lb. cake recipes instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyFromSeattle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 326) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States