Aunt Johnnie's Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
This cake is wonderful. I love homeade recipes. I tried this recipe and this is a keeper. I added my own touch, but I truly appreciate the basic recipe. I've made this cake a couple of times for my family. It never last for more than two days. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
This was very good, I had a hard time getting it out of the pan, but that could be my inexperience talking. I will make this again. Other posters commented on the strong almond flavor which I noticed but found pleasant. If you are unsure, half it and add the rest vanilla. Worth trying. This was my first pound cake, and I was pretty darn proud of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
My family didn't like the almond taste in the cake. Next time I'll use vanilla extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
This cake was very good. YOu can eat it with fruit or without and it is still good. This is a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
I made this last night and it turned out great. Good taste and good texture. It's definetly a keeper. Next time I will add lemon extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TGREEN6755

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dolton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
I followed the directions exactly with the exception of substituting vanilla for the flavoring instead of almond. I thought it was fantastic. It was a big cake and baked to the very top of the pan(I dont have a bundt pan, and used an angel foodcake pan) I used the full 1.5hours. The cake is very dense and buttery tasting. I served the cake toasted with fresh strawberries and whipped cream. Great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
I made this a long time ago and am just getting around to reviewing it. I did not like this at all, but I've never been fond of pound cake. My coworkers seemed to like it, though. I won't make it again just due to personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
One of the best recipes on this site. I bought an expensive bundt pan that was larger than the average. I bought it just for this recipe because I love it so much. It is a dense rich cake, perfect crust, cooks very even. I like it sliced and warmed up in the microwave for just about 20 seconds. So perfect with coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soccermomma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
Great recipe - easy to make. I recommend using all almond extract, as the recipe suggests. It really gives it great flavor! If you're hesitant, just give it a shot! It was a big hit with the coworkers...served with fresh whipped cream and berries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
I substituted half of the almond extract with vanilla and still found the almond flavor too strong. Next time I will try it with vanilla alone. I also used only 2 cups of sugar as other reviewers had suggested. But overall the recipe was great, the cake turned out really moist and tasty. Will definitely give it another go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by koala

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 330) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States