Aunt Johnnie's Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
This had a great taste, but too "cakey" for me. I like my pound cake dense and this was far from it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
Fantastic pound cake recipe. It was heavy, moist, dense just like it should be. I used buttermilk instead. I normally switch off between buttermilk, evaporated milk, heavy cream, or half and half. All work very well. And I used cake flour. We dont like the taste of almond extract, so I used vanilla, and butter & nut. The trick is not to overmix the flour into the batter. This has the signature thin crust on the bottom, which is our favorite part! The outside crust is not chewy or tough at all. The entire cake is tender and moist. Ive made quiet a few different pound cake recipes, and this one is the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOOKEDONJESUS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by smudgy
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
LOVE this cake. I made half the amount, used all butter, used one vanilla bean instead of almond extract, skimmed milk and plain flour. Creamed the butter and sugar with a hand mixer til smooth and pale, add eggs one at a time, then the vanilla bean. Then I stir in the flour mix alternately with milk by hand. Making sure it is well incorporated by each addition. Takes a little effort but SO worthwhile. Sprayed my cake tin w olive oil spray, baked the cake for an hour. LOVELY. It has a thin crust on top, and such dense, moist cake. Was a bit cautious in the beginning with the recipe after reading the reviews hence I made only half the recipe. Next time I'll make it marbled. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
Wonderful recipe. My aunt found this one and made it. She normally doesn't bake, but this was a home run for her. Everyone loved it. Now I've adopted this recipe for my own family. I made two adaptations: used all butter and vanilla extract, and added a pinch of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngelaYvo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crockett, Texas, USA
Living In: Prosper, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
Sooo yummy! Will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NGERLAND

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ssejaclop
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
EDIT: I've made this cake twice now and I know why some people's cakes are rising too much or are coming out spongelike and porous: DON'T OVER MIX!!!!!!! I was trying to get the cake slightly less dense my second time so I brought the eggs, shortening, and butter to room temperature and mixed all the ingredients longer and more vigorously than I had the first time and the cake came out very spongy and almost dry. This is a great recipe. The first time I made this cake it was wonderful. Any less than satisfactory products are the result of improper execution. This was my first try at pound cake. I used just 2 cups of sugar, buttermilk, and vanilla extract rather than almond extract (as was suggested by other reviewers), then I mixed half the batter with chocolate pudding mix and added chocoate chips. My result had the classic, dense pound cake consistency and it looked and tasted absolutely lovely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ssejaclop

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
Wow.. this came out AMAZING! I was a little scared at first after reading some reviews... but wow. I did mostly everything like the recipe says, I did omit the almond extract and replaced with vanilla. I also added 2 tsp of Lemon extract.. and I think that is what made this SO wonderful. I'm not sure why people said there was "too much" batter, but this was the perfect size, and I did use a bundt pan. Make sure you use CAKE flour!! I think that is where some went wrong and got too much. This is definitely going into my recipe box, I'll never again have to search for another pound cake recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsfield, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
this turned out dry and didn't have much flavor. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookingfor7

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kitanakagusuku, Okinawa, Japan
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
It was good but not fabulous. I was so excited to try it, thinking oh wow a dense rich pound cake. (The way I like it). It wasn't dense and a little dry to tell you the truth. i will keep checking some others out. I should have known when I saw shortening as an ingredient. A pound cake should always be made with butter!!! Sorry I tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
I liked the cake a little. I guess it is just too dense for me. That said the recipe was fine, I made a few alterations and it turned out well. Again it just isn't for me. I might try another pound cake recipe, but probably not this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Plastic Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 330) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Kitty Litter Cake

A perfect cake for April Fools' Day or Halloween.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States