Aunt Johnnie's Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Nearly 5,000 people can't be wrong! I used light cream cheese instead of shortening, Splenda for the sugar, and lemon extract instead of almond. I made some lemon curd (also with Splenda)to dollop onto this cake. I have to say, my friends think I am some kind of closet cake genius! See, we all work at a restaurant and I am a server, so you can imagine how thrilled I was when the cooks asked me for "my" recipe!! Wee! They were especially happy to find out that the calories were significantly reduced due to light cream cheese and splenda; we couldn't tell by the taste or texture! Will be keeping this one and it will be a the girl's night standard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly. THis cake is VERY sweet so if you dont want it to be so sweet I would cut back on the almond extract...also I would not reccomend using the electric mixer. I think my problem was i mixed it too much because the cake didnt have that dense pound cake like feel. It was more fluffy like regular cake, which is not what i wanted but still tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chelsieh

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
A really good basic pound cake recipe. I made this a few weeks ago so, I think I had to bake it a few minutes longer than he recipe said. Delicious, none the less!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heather_716

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
Wow! It was AMAZING! Everyone wanted a copy of the recipe. I ended up having to log on to allrecipes and print out several copies! And now I'm making it again! YUM! Never going to want to BUY pound cake AGAIN! THANK YOU SO MUCH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hungry Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
Used all butter instead of the shortening. Decided to stick to the almond extract since it was what made the recipe different. Received raved reviews. The cake turned out awesome. Keep in mind that CAKE FLOUR is not the same as ALL PURPOSE FLOUR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
this was great. I made it for a dinner party. It was nice and fluffy and just the right sweetness. I left out the almond extract because i didnt have it on hand, but instead i added fresh lemon juice about a tablespoon or so. And ofcourse the zest of a whole lemon because that gives the most flavour and looks nice too.(the little yellow specks in the cake)I luved it thanks for a great recipe. I might try spliting the batter in half and adding cocoa powder to one half and layering the two batters together to make a marble pound cake next time. thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Newmarket, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
I just made this today and here is how it comes out from the oven: although I used 1 tsp of almond and 1 tsp of vanilla exctract (as suggested from some reviewers) the almond taste was too much. The cake came out too dry and was too sweet that I could'n eat more of it. I don't think that I'm going to make this recipe again. But if I do I am surely cutting off some sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
This is moist and wonderful. It's a hit no matter where I take it. The only change I made to the recipe was to use vanilla instead of almond flavor (don't particularly like almond).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimz11

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
Very delicious recipe, not dry and not heavy like some pound cake recipes can be. I used this recipe in a Wilton Lamb mold and it came out perfectly. i also added chocolate chips to this recipe, they all sank to the bottom but made a delicious chocolate layer at the bottom... highly recommed!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
I have made this recipe many times and does not last very long. It comes out perfect everytime. I would not change a thing. It's Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 330) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States