Aunt Johnnie's Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
I have tried so many pound cake recipes on here, from sour cream to cream cheese and back again. I should've know that the simplest would be the best. This came out so moist, yet not too dense nor fluffy. Perfect, perfect cake. I gave mine a powdered sugar drizzle glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blue-eyes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
This cake is super moist with a wonderful flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Yale, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
This was delicious! I did half almond extract and half vanilla. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
WOW great taste and old fashion feel. I used only 2 cups of sugar: one white and one brown; cake flour not all purpose; butter flavored Crisco; one tsp vanilla and 1 tsp almond essence; must add almost a tsp of salt. I baked it on Sat. By Sun it was almost finished. By Mon. one slice left. I MUST do this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
I cut the almond extract in half and added 1 tsp vanilla extract and still thought the almond flavoring was too much. Next time I will only use vanilla extract. The texture was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Windsor, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
It's two days after Christmas and all through the house, not a creature is stirring...except for Hubs and me. With all our "holiday people" gone I'm left with an empty house and a full refrigerator and pantry, including lots of leftover eggnog. I decided to use some of it in a cake and after looking over this recipe decided it was a good, basic pound cake recipe that I could safely experiment with a little. Given that I replaced the milk with the sweet eggnog, I knew I'd have to reduce the sugar, but didn't want to reduce it so much that I'd be reducing some of the moisture in the cake as well. I settled at 2 cups. In keeping with the eggnog flavor I substituted 1-1/2 tsp. vanilla and 1/2 tsp. rum extract for the almond extract, and added 1/8 tsp. nutmeg to the flour mixture. I wasn't crazy about baking this at 300 degrees, but since I had a dark pan I felt it would be okay. An hour and 15 minutes later the cake was done. This really is a lovely, beautiful cake, moist, with a fine, tender and dense crumb. Pound cake just as pound cake should be. As for my eggnog experiment, it was a real happy result! Pleasantly eggnog flavored, light "mellow yellow" and a perfect choice for this holiday season. This was just excellent on its own, but I served it with a fresh, tropical fruit medley and fresh whipped cream (more leftovers!). Make this recipe as is or make my eggnog cake experiment, but either way I highly recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
As written, this is a pretty good recipe. I read over some reviews and made some changes to suit my own tastes. I reduced the sugar by 1/4 of a cup, added 1/2 tsp salt to my flour and baking powder, split the two teaspoons of almond extract between half almond extract and half vanilla extract. I waited for everything to come up to room temperature, beat the bejesus out of my wet ingredients, but then folded in my dry ingredients/milk with a spoon until smooth. It took almost the full hour and a half to cook, but the end result was a dense, professional-grade pound cake. I drizzled a bit of powdered sugar-orange flavored icing over the top of it. For Christmas, I served it with homemade cranberry sauce and homemade whipped cream to detract from the heaviness of the cake. Very good, will definitely bake again! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
I am not a novice at baking and I did notice that the batter looked very soupy and grainy. I decided to continue baking this cake and it turned out just as I expected- believe it has too many eggs and not enough flour to balance it out. Well, on to the next one......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
This cake is so moist. It is an absolute favorite of my family at every holiday gathering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NikkiFree

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
I loved the texture and moistness of this pound cake, but the taste was not as rich as I wanted. I did use the half vanilla, half almond. I used half and half instead of milk. I just baked this tonight though. The flavor of some cakes ripens in a day or so. Maybe this will be one of them. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 330) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States